Disruption ahead for Grantham passengers as Nottingham station closes

Train delays.
Train delays.

Major signalling and improvement work at Nottingham railway station from tomorrow until to August 25 is about to spark chaos as the station is largely closed for six weeks.

Services between Nottingham and Grantham will be severely disrupted, but some services will continue.
Train services will continue to run between Grantham and Skegness at all times. 
Direct train services will also be running between Nottingham and Skegness on the following days (between 8am and 8pm): Weekdays - Monday, July 22 to Friday, July 26; Monday, August 12, to Friday, August 23; Weekends, Saturday 20 and Sunday 21 July; Saturday 27 and Sunday 28 July; Saturday 10 August and Sunday 11 August; Saturday 17 August and Sunday 18 August. At all other times, an hourly bus service will run between Nottingham and Grantham with an hourly train service connecting at Grantham for services through to Skegness. There will also be an hourly express bus service from Grantham to East Midlands Parkway throughout the day to connect with services to Leicester/Liverpool and Norwich. 
Network Rail says improvements to Nottingham station will mean more reliable 
services and fewer delays at the station, and will allow the railways to cope with an increasing demand for rail travel in the future.

For more details of disruptions go to www.eastmidlandstrains.co.uk

Are you a rail passenger who will be affected by the work at Nottingham station? Let us know how it will affect you. Email graham.newton@granthamjournal.co.uk