Harrowby United out of final cup competition

Lee Shaw
Lee Shaw

Lincs Senior Cup

Harrowby United 1

Deeping Rangers 2

Harrowby United went out of their final cup competition of the season with an odd goal in three defeat to Deeping Rangers on a blustery autumnal night at the Environcom Stadium.

The visitors adapted quickly to the conditions and forced all the early pressure, with Jack Drury in the Arrows goal producing a fine full-length diving save after 10 minutes to push away a shot from Jordan Avis.

The same player was denied four minutes later, this time by the woodwork as his shot hit the foot of a post. Just before the half hour mark Avis was again thwarted by a good save from Drury, the rebound falling for David Burton-Jones who smashed his shot against the cross bar.

Harrowby created their best opening of the half three minutes before the interval when Scott Webb made himself time in midfield and slid a fine ball through to Martin Wormall who jinxed past his marker before firing a shot over the bar.

Rangers started the second half strongly and after 52 minutes rattled the crossbar for the second time. Joe Braithwaite was the unfortunate player this time with a header from a set-piece.

The Arrows opened the scoring after 58 minutes when Webb played a ball through to Lee Shaw who went past his marker before firing home a low shot across Rangers keeper Daniel Bircham.

Their lead lasted just five minutes as Rangers skipper Burton-Jones levelled from a free kick, curling a fine effort effort round the wall and into the net.

Deeping scored the decisive winning goal after 69 minutes when a corner from Scott Ginty was headed against the post by Matt Heron. The rebound fell kindly for Burton-Jones who seemed to have an age to bundle the ball over the line.

Harrowby had a couple of late efforts to try and force a penalty shoot-out. Wormall fired over when played in by Shaw, and Bircham made a smothering save after a good one-two between Webb and Wormall opened up Deeping.

Harrowby United’s man of the match was Lee Shaw.

Harrowby United: Drury, Currall, Vorley (Peberdy, 64), Whyley, Smith, Clarke, Jaques (Weatherstone, 73), Atkinson, Webb, Wormall (c), Shaw. Sub not used: Daykin.