Conservative Mark Whittington wins Barrowby by-election

Lincolnshire County Council.
Lincolnshire County Council.
Share this article
Have your say

Conservative candidate Mark Whittington has been elected a county councillor following last night’s by-election.

Coun Whittington easily won the Grantham Barrowby seat with 579 votes. He was followed by Rob Shorrock, Labour, with 257 votes. Maureen Simon, of UKIP, won 179 votes and Lincolnshire Independent Michael Williams received 155 votes.

The by-election took place after former councillor Jo Churchill became Mp in Bury St Edmunds.

Coun Whittington is a Barrowby Parish Councillor with experience working in local government and NHS finance.