Home   News   Article

Contractor apologises after Grantham road repairs fail within a few months




A contractor has apologised to residents in Grantham after road repairs failed only a few months after resurfacing was carried out.

The contractor, Kier, will pay for a second series of road improvements in the Barrowby Gate area. In September, roads in the area were surface dressed, a process which involves laying new chippings to extend the life of the carriageway.

Lincolnshire County Council says it has become aware that the repairs have not lasted as expected, resulting in a number of loose chippings that are causing issues for motorists.

Barrowby Gate pothole (6184144)
Barrowby Gate pothole (6184144)

Coun Richard Davies, Executive Member for Highways, said: "We expect our contractors to meet certain standards, and, in this case, they've clearly failed. We're aware of the issues this is causing, and I want to reassure residents that the contractor will be coming back to put this right – and at their own expense."

In a letter to affected residents, the council's main highways contractor Kier said: "Engineers have visited the site and identified roads that are showing signs of failure and regrettably chippings may continue to strip from the surface.

"Unfortunately, remedial works (which will be carried out at the contractor’s expense) cannot take place until the full extent of the failure is known. Due to the nature of these works, which are seasonal, these will not be able to be carried out until the spring of 2019.

"However, please be assured that we will continue to monitor all the sites and sweeping will take place on a weekly basis where required. You may have noticed that we have already erected loose chipping signs to warn motorists.

"It is regrettable that the site has started to fail, but it's also worth noting that we have successfully surface dressed in excess of three million square metres this year alone, and over the course of the past eight years this process has achieved a 98.7% success rate and is a vital tool in the county council's asset management strategy.

"Once again please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this has caused."



COMMENTS
()


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.

 

Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More