Home   News   Article

European Elections 2019: This is everything you need to know

Voters will go to the polls on Thursday (May 23) to elect candidates to represent the East Midlands in the European Parliament.

The country is taking part in the elections after the UK and European Union agreed an extension to the Brexit process until October 31.

The East Midlands is one of 12 European electoral regions across the UK.

EU elections (10744614)
EU elections (10744614)

There are 73 Euro MPs (MEPs) representing the UK at the European Parliament.

How the voting works

Voters have one vote in the elections.

A regional list is put forward by parties competing in the elections - and independents can also stand.

You have one vote. You can vote for either one of the party's regional lists or an individual standing as an independent.

The share of the vote received determined the number of MEPs elected from each party, based on a system devised by Belgian lawyer and mathematician Victor D'Hondt in the 19th century.

The party with the most votes in the first round of counting wins a seat for the candidate at the top of its list.

In the second round of counting, the winning party's vote is divided by two - one plus one, for the number of Euro MP sit has.

The party now top in the reordered results wins a seat for their leading candidate.

The process continues, with the original vote of the winning party in each round being divided by one plus their running total of MEPs, until all the seats for the region have been taken

Who is standing in the East Midlands?

All the major parties, plus the Brexit Party, Change UK and an independent candidate are standing. Here they are:

East Midlands

5 seats, 2 elected as UKIP, 2 Conservative, 1 Labour

Brexit Party

Annunziata Rees-Mogg

Jonathan Deryck Bullock

Matthew Richard Patten

Tracy Selina Knowles

Anna Louisa Bailey

Change UK

Kate Godfrey

Joan Laplana

Narinder Sharma

Pankajhumar Gulab

Emma-Jane Marley


Emma McClarkin

Rupert Matthews

Anthony Harper

Brendan Clarke-Smith

Thomas Randall


Kat Boettge

Gerhard Lohmann-Bond

Liam McClelland

Daniel Wimberley

Simon Tooke


Simon Louis Rood

Independent Network

Nick Byatt

Marianne Jane Overton

Daniel Anthony Simpson

Pearl Winifred Clarke

Nikki Dillon


Rory Palmer

Leonie Mathers

Tony Tinley

Nicolle Ndiweni

Gary Godden

Liberal Democrat

Bill Newton Dunn

Michael Mullaney

Lucy Care

Suzanna Austin

Caroline Kenyon


Alan Graves

Marietta King

Anil Bhatti

Fran Loi

John Evans

Read more

More by this author

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More