Home   News   Article

Former Grantham school classmates reunite after 40 years

Former classmates from a Grantham school, which closed in 1978, have been reunited after more than 40 years.

The Boys Central School’s class of 1974 met at the Isaac Newton pub, Grantham, for a night of reminiscing and laughter.

More than 40 guests, including three former teachers attended the special reunion on Saturday, June 9, to meet old friends and share memories.

Getting everyone together proved to be a bit of a challenge after four decades apart.

It took former ‘old boys’ Phil Gadd and Paul Davidson two years to track everyone down for the reunion, which was planned to coincide with them all turning 60 years old.

Many of the former pupils travelled from across the UK, including the Isle of Wight.

The detective duo also managed to track down former teachers, Trevor Ireland, Bryan Roach and Brian Cowell. Brian, the school’s former metalwork teacher travelled from Cornwall to attend.

Over 40 ex-pupils turned up for the reunion earlier this month. (2684970)
Over 40 ex-pupils turned up for the reunion earlier this month. (2684970)

‘Old boy’ Robert Holland gave a witty and moving speech which set the scene for the night and reminded everyone about how quick the intervening years had passed by.

Organiser Phil Gadd said: “All participants were part of the 1969-74 cohort at the Boys Central School, then situated on Hill Avenue, Grantham. It was great to see so many people after 44 years and to see what they had done with their lives – already people have been asking about another one, maybe in six years when we are all pension age!”

The Boys’ Central School was built in 1928 on Sandon Road, which is now Little Gonerby Infant School. It closed on 18 March 1978.

Photo(reunion picture): Front row, Dave Wallis, Colin Tyler, Steve Beswick, Roger Church, Paul Davidson, Pete Brown, Phil Gadd, Steve Saunby and Richard Truesdale.

Middle row: Jamie Shaw, Gary Bowen, Simon Tunnard, Geoff Smith, Jes Sayer, Trevor Ireland, Brian Cowell, Simon Wray, Paul Johnson, Bryan Roach and Tony Defusto.

Back row: Anthony Brown, Nigel Lewins, Ross Northing, Andrew Silkstone, David Todd, Michael Sharpe, Richard Butler, Robert Holland, Tony York, Steve Morris, Derek Williamson, Mark Leverett, Sam Ballaam, Phil Allen, Tony Creswell, Dave Mallett, Steve Fenton, John Wright, Steve Beck, Ian Herbert, Graham Higgs, Neil Toyne, Andy Gadsby, Kevin Pearcey, Colin Hewitt.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More