Hospital staff at Grantham are shortlisted for awards

Grantham Hospital
Grantham Hospital
Share this article
Have your say

Staff at Grantham Hospital are among those announced as finalists in the United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust’s annual staff awards.

Having received nearly 150 nominations for this year’s awards, which recognise the hard work and dedication of staff and volunteers, the finalists have been announced in the 13 categories.

Grantham staff shortlisted for awards are:

* Alison Lawrie-Marshall, operating department practitioner - Quality and Safety Award

* Debbie Alexander, A&E nurse - Compassion and Respect Towards Others Award

* Andy Mcdowall, portering section leader - Great Leadership Award

* A&E teams - Chief Executive’s Award

An award ceremony in Lincoln on Thursday, March 19, will see members of the executive team and sponsors present awards to the winners. Guest speaker for the evening will be Mark Smith who will talk about his experience of the care his son received on Ashby Ward at Lincoln County Hospital. Mark’s son Ryan Smith, was involved in a collision in July 2013 where he was knocked off his bike. Since the accident, Mark has campaigned to make wearing safety helmets a legal requirement.

Members of the public were able nominate in a number of categories including, fantastic customer service, unsung hero, extra mile and volunteer of the year. Of those patient nominations who were successful in being shortlisted, the nominator has been invited to attend the evening and help celebrate the achievements of staff.

ULHT chief executive Jane Lewington said: “The annual staff awards are a fantastic opportunity for us to celebrate the outstanding work of our staff. We cannot succeed without the skill, commitment and compassion of our dedicated team of staff and volunteers. To all the nominees, shortlisted entrants and winners, I congratulate you. I am very proud and grateful for what you have done and for the outstanding contribution you have made to health care in Lincolnshire.”

The awards ceremony is sponsored by major supplier NL Managed Services and Kier.