Home   Sport   Article

Another great week for junior water polo in Grantham

A Team FOtPk42mUC6A03nZkU7a
A Team FOtPk42mUC6A03nZkU7a

Grantham Water Polo Club juniors enjoyed yet another bumper week

Just under 40 Grantham players formed three teams to contest the second ASA Junior East Midland Tournament.

B Team Kcoyz8w_fvcYJ4eRiHSb
B Team Kcoyz8w_fvcYJ4eRiHSb

As the dominant club in the region, Grantham fielded three teams of mixed ability players, enabling those less experienced in matchplay to benefit from the experience of the older players.

Teams from Hucknall, Nottingham and Hinckley played alongside the Grantham teams (A,B,C) in an afternoon of 15 matches.

The final results put Grantham in first, second and equal fourth places with their B, A and C teams respectively.

All three teams were grateful to junior coaches Rose Bitowt, Josh Peters and Naya Patel who led them throughout tournament.

C Team gLoEO4x6MPu2THZ5ZMLu
C Team gLoEO4x6MPu2THZ5ZMLu

A Team from left, back – coach Josh Peters, Millie Stewart, Georgia Coyle, Harriet Underwood, Will Herring, Harry Fowler and Cameron Manderfield; front – Naomi Solomon, Hannah Underwood, Luke Griffin, Matthem Smith and Gareth Lee.

B Team from left, back – Krzysztof Fedorczuk, Cameron Chow, Jack Marshall, Lily Jackson, Evangeline Searle, Maddie Barnes, Beth McLoughlin, Jermaine Cann-Livingstone and Ethan Wood; front – Richard Earley, Amelia Peters and coach Rose Bitowt.

C Team from left, back – India Wilkinson, James Pearson, Tom Cotton, Katie Knott, Ewan Wilson, Ben Harvey, Lewis Farmer, Sam Murray and Naya Patel; front – Alex Barnett, Tazmin Brown and Laura Harvey.

+ Meanwhile, the King’s School under-14 boys’ team was in action in the preliminary round of the English Schools Competition.

Coach Dave Lord presided over three wins against Queen Elizabeth Boys school (4-0), Bedford Modern School (5-2) and Haberdashers and Aske (3-1), which earned the lads a place to compete for further qualification at the end of the month.

The King’s squad comprised Cameron Chow, Noah Clegg, William Seage, Thomas Cotton, Harry Fowler, Cameron Manderfield, Krzysztof Fedorczuk, Jack Marshall, Imran Esmail, Noah Cadby, Will Shennan and Tom Griffin.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More