Home   Sport   Article

BOWLS: Grantham indoor season draws to a close

Bowls news.
Bowls news.

Grantham and District Indoor Bowls Club’s competitive season has come to a close, and with it the announcement of league and competition winners.

Having yet again enjoyed a highly successful year, Mathew Orrey won the Men’s Singles competition, whilst Caroline Davies took the ladies’ crown. Runners-up were Terry Berridge and Chris Hodgson respectively.

During the year, Mathew won the National Premier Three Competition, beating established and professional bowlers from around the UK and pocketing £3,000 for his efforts. He also won the County Mens’ Singles and, with Dion Auckland and Martin Pulling, the County Triples. The same threesome represented Lincolnshire in the national final of the Liberty Trophy in which they were runners-up to Northamptonshire.

Nigel Smith, Mark Eurich and Jay Lewis, having won the County Triples in the English Bowling Federation competition, went on to represent the County in the national final at Newark, but they were defeated.

Club president Bernard Goodchild presented the trophies and monetary awards to the winners and runners-up. President Eileen Eggleston did similarly for the ladies.

The Victor Wood Cup had already been presented to the winners by the company’s representative George Thorpe after the competition, and the Sencit League to Dysart Park at the sponsor’s annual meeting by Sencit chairman Len Payling.

Other competition winners: Men’s Pairs – 1 Joe Lewis/Jay Lewis, 2 John Pask/Mathew Orrey; Ladies’ Pairs – 1 Linda Appleyard/Hilda Whatley, 2 Pat Thompson/Jean Logsdon; Mixed Pairs – 1 Chris Hodgson/Joe Lewis, 2 Pat Thompson/Martin Pulling; Triples – 1 Nigel Smith/Mark Eurich/Jay Lewis, 2 Malcolm LeHair/Ian Whyte/Derek Bass; Rinks – 1 Adam Berridge/Jamie Stanfield/Terry Berridge/Alastair Brunton, 2 Rob Barker/Colin Goodley/Mark Eurich/Mark Parker.

League winners: Monday Evening Triples – 1 Hotspurs – Tony Sumner, 2 Boxers – Richard Lewis.

Early Evening Leagues, Division 1 – 1 Spacemen – Nick Orrey, 2 Buttercross – Chris Hodgson; Division 2 – 1 Allsorts – Bill Johnson, 2 Gremlins – David Dickinson.

Afternoon Leagues, Division 1 – 1 Bens – Bernard Vessey, 2 Matjac – Tony Asher; Division 2 – 1 Mallard – Joe Franklin, 2 Gundogs – Bill Shores; Division 3 – 1 Wynots – Peter Bennett, 2 JDDD’s – Dennis Woods.

Morning Leagues, Division 1 – 1 Buttercross – Chris Hodgson, 2 Woodlark – Roger Turnbull; Division 2 – 1 Elks – Ray Moore, 2 Hillsiders – Arthur Curtis; Division 3 – 1 Butchers Dog – Alex Cullen, 2 Don’t Knows – Frank Fielding; Division 4 – 1 Early Birds – Bill Johnson, 2 Ramblers – John Gale.

Australian Pairs, A League – 1 Bombers – Nick Orrey, 2 BJ’s – Alastair Brunton; B League – 1 Eagles – John Morris, 2 The Ducks – Ken Brailsford.

EBF Triples – 1 Percherons – David Rainsford, 2 Butterfingers – Ian Cole; Ladies’ League – 1 Bees Knees – Hilda Whatley, 2 Bee Gees – Muriel Goodchild; Joan Hackett Trophy – 1 Margaret Barrett/Pam Greer/Shirley Leverett; Pat Wallwork Trophy – 1 Janet Kell/Pat Royce/Dorothy Creighton; Jack High – 1 Grantham, 2 Long Bennington; Sencit League – 1 Dysart Park, 2 Long Bennington; Victor Wood Trophy – Elaine Meakins/Jean Burton/Brenda Patten; Novice Pairs – 1 Roger Giles/Maurice Appleyard, 2 Linda Appleyard/Pam Greer; Novice Triples – 1 Roger Giles/Peter Sheardown/Maurice Appleyard, 2 Ann Collins/Linda Bainbridge/Shirley Beardsley.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More