British Tour de France legend Barry Hoban is guest of honour at Witham Wheelers dinner and awards night

editorial image
Have your say

More than 90 members and guests attended Witham Wheelers’ annual dinner and prize presentation at Belton Park Golf Club last Saturday.

The awards were presented by guest speaker Barry Hoban, who won eight stages of the Tour de France in the 1960s and 1970s.

A great evening was had by all, rounding of a very sucessful year for the club that has seen a significant increase in membership across all ages and levels of ability. On the racing front, standards improved all round with members performing well, not just at local level but also nationally. Attendance on club rides also continued to rise with many members just enjoying the social aspect as well as getting fit.

The evening was rounded of by a raffle, with some great prizes this year, including a 2012 Olympic issue kit bag donated by club life member and now top Team Sky coach Rod Ellingworth.

Awards: Senior BAR - Martin Hedley, Veteran BAR - Martin Hedley, Handicap BAR - Tony Hardenberg, Junior BAR - Peter Cocker, Juvenile BAR - Karl Baillie, 50-mile Cup - Martin Hedley 2hr 16min 29sec, Championship 30 - Dave Herd 1.19.37, Championship 25 - Karl Baillie 59.44, Championship 10 - Jim Coleman 20.47, Juvenile Championship 10 - Karl Baillie 23.19, Fastest 25 - Jim Coleman 50.54, 25-mile Handicap Cup - Peter Barnes, Fred Branston Trophy - Martin Hedley, 10-mile League Cup - Trevor White, Junior 10-mile League - Peter Cocker, Juvenile 10-mile League - James Carter, Ladies’ 10-mile League - Louise George, Veterans’ 10-mile League - John Farmer, Circuit Time Trial - Peter Cocker 1.12.38, Hill Climb - Patrick Cutmore 2.55, Junior Hill Climb - Peter Cocker 2.40, Juvenile Hill Climb - Karl Baillie 2.50, Freewheel - Peter Cocker, Road Race Champion - Peter Cocker, Veteran Road Race Champion - Phil Atherton, Senior Cyclo-cross - Sean East, Junior Cyclo-cross - Peter Cocker, Juvenile Cyclo-cross - Eleanor Crawford, Under-12 Cyclo-cross - Kerrigan Robb, Most Improved Rider - Reece Egner, Merit Award - Tony Hardenberg, Young Personality - Adam Egner, Tourist Trophy - Bill Harrison, Club Person of the Year - Janet East.

Pictured from left, back, are: Tony Hardenberg, Martin Hedley, Sean East, Trevor White, Louise George, Barry Hoban, Karl Baillie, Patrick Cutmore, Reece Egner, Peter Cocker, John Farmer and Adam Egner; front - Eleanor Crawford, Jessica East and Kerrigan Robb.