CRICKET: Club celebrates incredible season

Bingham CC overall player of the year Jack Teague (left) with Derbyshire CCC captain Greg Smith.
Bingham CC overall player of the year Jack Teague (left) with Derbyshire CCC captain Greg Smith.
Have your say

BINGHAM Cricket Club’s end of season awards were a fitting climax to a season that saw some tremendous highs for the Nottinghamshire set-up.

More than 80 members attended the presentation event at the club’s Butt Field clubhouse to see Derbyshire CCC captain Greg Smith hand over awards, as well as taking part in an interesting question and answer session.

Club vice-president John Betts attended the awards evening, at which a minute’s applause was offered in memory of his predecessor Bill Quibell who died this year.

Jack Teague scooped the Player of the Year main award for his superb season, which saw him take more than 80 wickets and knock up 300 runs.

Bingham CC’s Saturday first team gained promotion from the South Notts League Division J and the Sunday firsts were promoted to Division Three of the Grantham and Melton Cricket Association. The Saturday second string finished fourth in South Notts Division R and the Sunday friendly team played more games than any previous season. The midweek XI finished runners-up in the Frank Woodhead Cup.

In the junior section, the under-15s were second in the Newark Cup and third in the league. The under-14s were runners-up in both the Nottingham Youth League and the Under-14 Cup.

Bingham under-13s reached the quarter-finals in the Newark Cup and finished fourth in the league. The under-11s were fourth in the Newark League and the girls’ team enjoyed their first ever season in the hardball Nottingham League.

Individual awards, seniors: Overall player of the year - Jack Teague; Saturday 1st XI player of the year - Mike Spencer; Sunday 1st XI player of the year - Ben Legge; Saturday 2nd XI player of the year - Dave Taylor; performance of the year - Ben Legge (5-25 v Houghton on the Hill); batsman of the year - Mike Spencer (579 runs at 48.25); bowler of the year - Ben Legge (84 wickets at 9.58); most improved player - George Farrell; best junior in senior cricket (Bill Quibell Trophy) - Tom Spencer; clubman of the year - Steve Bateman.

Juniors: girls’ player - Charlotte Farnsworth; under-11 player - Thomas McCartney, most improved - Louis Hartland; under-13 player - Alex Beavis, most improved - Toby Stubbs; under-14 player - Tom Spencer, most improved - Chris Pitsillos; under-15 player - Ed Hodgson, most improved - Harley Cox.