CYCLING: Grantham club’s guest speaker is former Olympian Steel

Witham Wheelers prize winners. Photo: Alan East
Witham Wheelers prize winners. Photo: Alan East
Share this article
Have your say

Witham Wheelers’ annual club dinner and prize presentation was held at Belton Park Golf Club last Saturday.

Following an excellent meal, Tony Mendham introduced the guest speaker Bryan Steel from Nottingham to the 80 members and guests.

Bryan won Olympic medals as part of the GB team pursuit team at Sydney 2000 (bronze) and Athens 2004 (silver) and gave an inspirational talk beginning with how he started in cycling with his local club to the moment of actually winning Olympic medals. He then passed his medals around for everyone to have a close look.

Following Bryan’s talk, Simon Cocker introduced the club’s prize winners for the year and announced the winners of the committee-nominated awards. Jennifer McAndrew won the Merit Trophy, Will Cherry took Young Personality, Crispin Bridges-Webb was Most Improved Rider and Michael Smalley received the Touring Achievement award.

The Jack O’Connor Club Person of the Year was voted for by members on the evening and was collected by Dave Borchard.

For full awards visit

l Following the earlier successful trial evening a few weeks ago, another Witham Wheelers roller evening was held at Grantham Cricket Club with Reece Egner taking everyone through the British Cycling 20-minute roller warm-up. This was followed by a 10-mile time trial on rollers with some riders using restricted gears to help develop pedalling technique and core strength.

Times: Mick Egner 15min 53sec, Reece Egner 17.54 (6.84 gear), Adam Egner 18.31 (6.84), Paul Conneely 18.52, Simon Cocker 18.54 (7.01), Dave Moulds 20.25, Michael Smalley 25.18.

It is planned to hold further roller nights once a month throughout the winter, dates to be announced.