CYCLING: Junior Jennifer wins national circuit time trial title

Jennifer McAndrew on the start line.
Jennifer McAndrew on the start line.
Share this article
Have your say

Witham Wheelers’ Jennifer McAndrew last Sunday added the junior women’s National Circuit Championship time trial title to the National 25 title she won earlier in the season

The 33-kilometre event was on a rolling course near Loughborough, with the hills on the second of the two laps taking their toll on riders’ legs.

Jennifer blasted round the course and was 40 seconds up on her nearest rival after one lap and finished a clear one-and-a-half minutes ahead of her in 53min 1sec to be crowned National Circuit Champion.

Jennifer’s time would have been good enough to give her sixth place in the senior women’s race which was won by Dame Sarah Storey.

Jennifer’s brother Robert won his age category in the junior men’s race, recording 57.48 to record more than 20mph on a very hard course.

Robert also rode the previous day in the GHS 10 for the fastest schoolchildren in Great Britain.

He rode strongly to finish third in his age category with a time of 27.32 for the Six Hills course.

l Adam Egner and Robert McAndrew represented Wheelers in the youth race at the Ancaster cyclo-cross on Sunday.

Adam made a mess of the start but soon overtook a group in the headwind and found himself trying to reel people in for the remainder of the 30-minute race, finishing eighth overall and sixth in his age group. Robert finished just outside the top 10.

In the under-10/12 race, Witham Wheelers were strongly represented with eight riders. Billy Reed battled against a series of mechanicals to finish a strong second under-10 and 16th overall. Max Moore was close behind in 17th. Beth McLoughlin outsprinted Tazmin Brown to finish fourth and fifth girls.

Mazel Brown was first under-10 girl, an incredible race for her first cyclo cross event. Other finishers were Callum East, Jack Simpson and Leo Moore.

Finally, Darren Reed, Reece Egner, Alistair Golby, Dave Miller and Graham McAndrew took part in the 60-minute senior race with more than 100 riders.

Best finisher was Darren who managed to get through the traffic and get into a good position early on, finishing third MTB rider. Next was Reece with Dave not too far behind. Alistair pulled out after a crash, as did Graham.

l Seven Wheelers took part in the VTTA 25 on the A46 course at Flintham.

James Westwood recorded his first sub-hour ride in 59.25. Gary Symons recorded a PB 56.57, Pete Watson 57.34, Jon Beere 58.12, Martin Hedley a frustrating 1.00.03, Tony Hardenberg 1.04.17, and Dave Herd 1.07.46.