CYCLING: Karl cruises to victory in Witham Wheelers 10-mile time trial championship

Share this article
Have your say

Witham Wheelers’ 10-mile time trial championship was won by Karl Hunt who cruised to victory by some 16 seconds in 23min 7sec on Tuesday evening.

There was a good turnout of 47 riders and the rain kept away but a brisk westerly wind made for a tough ride on the drag up to the second turn, and times were generally a little down on previous weeks.

Karl Hunt at speed in Witham Wheelers championship 10 event. Photo: Alan East

Karl Hunt at speed in Witham Wheelers championship 10 event. Photo: Alan East

Runner-up behind Karl was John Pilgrim with Gary Symons just one second further back.

Fastest lady Jennifer McAndrew (26.34) pushed reigning champion Lara Thornhill back into second, with Louise George third. Reece Egner was first Junior in 24.33 with brother Adam the leading youth rider in 24.55, from Rober McAndrew 30.35 and Ehren Courtman 3rd in 34.42

Quickest rider on the night was Peter Cocker (Pedal Pushers) in a rapid 22.01, just three seconds outside his course record.

For full results, visit

l Witham Wheelers staged their annual Open 10-mile time event at Quarrington on Saturday. The out-and-back course turned at Osbournby roundabout and attracted a good sized field of 71 riders, with a great turnout of Wheelers.

Winner on the day was Cherry Valley’s Jim Boyle in 21min 36sec.

Fastest of the Wheelers was Karl Hunt (22.23) who collected the John Edwards Trophy for his efforts. John Pilgrim was just a further second adrift with 10 Wheelers in total recording sub-24 minute rides.

The club’s ladies also showed improvement with Jen McAndrew finishing in 24.30, and Carol Milne (27.35) and Suzanne Holdsworth (28.45) both recording personal bests.

Other results: Gary Symons 23.02, Rick Yates 23.18, Jon Beere 23.31, Reece Egner 23.32, Peter Watson 23.36, Martin Milne 23.41, Mark Kokocinski 23.45, James Westwood 23.47, Adam Egner 24.25, Simon Cocker 24.35, Tony Hardenberg 25.18, Mick Egner 25.18, Gerry Hyde 25.28, Paul Fairey 25.53, Graham McAndrew 25.55, Lara Thornhill 26.15, Martin Lister 26.21, Dave Herd 26.31, Robert McAndrew 28.01.

l Karl Baillie (Haribo-Beacon) picked up more points towards his first category road racing licence with a well earned second place last Thursday evening.

Racing the latest round of the NCRA Rockingham Raceway Circuit Series, Karl started in the scratch group of second category riders, four minutes behind the others in a one hour race.

His group worked hard and caught the main bunch with three laps remaining.

With one lap to go, a solo rider was out front and Karl jumped from the bunch to chase him down, but the finish line came 100m too soon and he had to settle for second place.