CYCLING: Pedal Pusher Peter pipped on the line at Loughborough

Peter Cocker loses it on the line at Loughborough.
Peter Cocker loses it on the line at Loughborough.
Share this article
Have your say

Grantham’s Peter Cocker took part in Loughborough University CC’s annual circuit races around the road on the campus.

With a steady climb up through the finish and a fast, twisty descent, keeping near the front was always a priority.

Riding for Pedal Pushers in the 2/3/4 category event over 60 minutes plus five laps, Peter was always at the head of the action as the 44-rider bunch rapidly broke up under the fast pace. Some minor spills by half distance meant only 14 riders remained in contention at the front.

Despite numerous attacks, it came down to a bunch finish with Peter leading it out through the last two corners looking to have his first win of the season, only for Alex King (Loughborough Uni) to just squeeze past on the line.

George Thompson of Sleaford Wheelers rode well for fourth and Harry Browning (Pedal Pushers) missed the early splits but kept driving well in the main chasing group to just finish outside the top 15.

Witham Wheeler Lewey Byrne found the early pace a bit too quick but found himself in a small group which kept rolling to sprint it out for 25th place.

l Another good night on Gorse Lane for round four of the Witham Wheelers 10-mile time trial league saw 52 riders competing, producing 15 personal best times on a warm, calm evening,.

Quickest rider on the evening, Peter Cocker took three seconds of Jim Coleman’s recent course record with 21min 58sec, more than 50 seconds in front of his Pedal Pushers team-mate Karl Baillie, with Harry Browning breaking the 23-minute barrier for the first time.

Leading first claim Witham Wheeler John Pilgrim improved to only four seconds outside the 23-minute mark, with Gary Symons slowly closing the gap with an 18-second personal best in 23.28.

Adam Egner was quickest youth rider in 25.33 with Jennifer McAndrew leading the ladies in 26.23.

On handicap, Mark Bailey improved by almost a minute and Martin Milne won the veterans’ competition.

For full results visit