CYCLING: Reece is top Wheeler in club’s open 25

Have your say

Witham Wheelers promoted their first open 25-mile time trial for quite a few years on Saturday afternoon on the Sleaford-Osbournby-Somerby and back course.

A strong south-easterley wind made for really testing conditions on the outward leg which gradually rises up to the High Dyke, with riders hopefully saving something to take advantage of the fast return to the finish.

Despite the conditions, the event was still won by Neil Palmer (Spalding CC) in a rapid 54min 53sec, from his clubmate Chris Ward (55.35). Third was Sleaford Wheeler Richard Hamblin in 56.01.

Witham Wheelers took the next four places with Reece Egner leading the way with a very good 57.01 and top junior, fifth was Gary Symons 58.34, sixth John Pilgrim 59.47, still not fully recovered from a recent illness, and seventh was Jon Beere, just over the hour by 25sec.

Possibly the ride of the ride of the day came from Michael Smalley in 1.03.42 for 11th overall and third veteran on standard.

Reece Egner was also awarded the David Chantry Memorial Trophy for the fastest club rider, originally donated some 50 years ago in memory of a young club rider tragically killed on the A52

Other club results: 14 James Westwood 1.04.19, 16 Adam Egner 1.04.41 (1st juv), 21 Martin Hedley 1.08.17, 23 Martin Lister 1.10.14, 25 Dave Miller 1.11.11, 29 John Scott 1.18.35.