Home   Sport   Article

CYCLING: Smalley first Witham Wheeler home in Bourne supremacy


Five riders represented Witham Wheelers in the Bourne Wheelers 10-mile time trial on the Sleaford to Osbournby course.

Mick Smalley was first Wheeler home in 24min 55sec. Ehren Courtman was next with 26:35, followed by Martin Hedley (26:57) and Martin Lister (27:57).

Tony Hardenberg unluckily punctured in the start gate.

The event was won by James Gelsthorpe with 21.03.

l The Egner brothers went to Lincoln to take part in the city centre criteriums on Friday night.

Junior Adam was up first in the 3/4 race, in a 70-strong field. He started up at the front and on the second lap attempted to try and string the race out. The race split up into small groups of 10-15, but Adam bombed from his effort and took some time to recover.

He got himself in a group and finished up in 16th place, not a bad finishing place for a crit race.

In the E/1/2/3, Reece started up at the front but the pace was high from the beginning. Reece stuck in the group for the first half of the race but got dropped and found himself in a time trial to the finish.

He finished in 24th out of 26 finishers, with 15 pulling out.

Junior cyclo-cross world champion Tom Pidcock took the win.

l Week five of the Witham Wheelers 10-mile TT league predictably saw reduced numbers due to heavy rain in the afternoon, however, by the time racing started, this had more or less cleared away to leave a dry, mild evening with a south westerly breeze to slow riders on the longest leg from turn one to two.

It was a clear win for Reece Egner in 22:36 by over two minutes from Henry Gould 24.44, with veteran Simon Cocker third.

Louise George was the quickest of the ladies in 27:51, ahead of Tracey George and Julie Clark.

Improvement were at a premium with young Josh Kettle leading the way with 15 seconds, from veteran Bill Harrison on seven. Josh’s father Gavin Kettle improved by six seconds.

Michael Smalley led the way again in the veterans, ahead of Simon Cocker and Tony Hardenberg.

Results: 1 Reece Egner 22:36, 2 Henry Gould 24:44, 3 Simon Cocker 24:59, 4 Michael Smalley 25:36, 5 Chris Pugh 25:37, 6 Matthew Kingston-Lee 25:48, 7 Mark Bailey 26:09, 8 Chris Masters 26:38, 9 Tony Hardenberg 27:09, 10 Nev Chamberlain 27:45, 11 Louise George 27:51, 12 Gavin Kettle 28:11 PB, 13 Wayne Searle 28:44, 14 Phil Smith 29:25, 15 Bill Harrison 29:29 PB, 15 Tracey George 29:29, 17 Guy Haws 29:39, 18 Julie Clark 31:27, 19 Jeremy Clay 31:28, 20 Mick Smith 31:51, 21 Joshua Kettle 32:42 PB, 22 Evangeline Searle 38:46, 23 Ben Harper 43:39, 24 Dave Miller DNF.

This Tuesday is another 10-mile TT. Sign on at Grantham Cricket Club on Gorse Lane after 6pm. First rider starts at 6.45pm.

All welcome.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More