CYCLING: Testing times for Grantham riders

Have your say

Riders from Grantham clubs performed well in the Sleaford CC Charity 10-mile time trial on Saturday.

Riding for Pedal Pushers, Peter Cocker was second with a personal best 21min 14sec, just 13 seconds shy of the winning time.

Alistair Golby (VO2) took the first junior prize with a personal best 22.45 in only his second season of racing.

Winning the Witham Wheelers club battle, John Pilgrim (23.24) just got the better of Jon Beere by four seconds, with Gary Symons not far behind in 23.45.

Jennifer McAndrew pulled out a great 25.11 to take the first lady prize and younger brother Robert (30.05) was also among the prizes with the youngest rider and first juvenile awards.

Other times: James Westwood 24.12, Martin Hedley 24.23, Graham McAndrew 24.30, Simon Cocker 24.56, Neil Sentance 24.59, Maciej Rakowski 25.21, Ian Galpin 25.52, Tony Hardenberg 25.53, Paul Fairey 26.08, Martin Lister 26.21, Dave Herd 27.07, Adrian Golby 28.40.

l Witham Wheelers were again well represented in the latest Velo 99 road race at Norwell on Sunday.

Six handicap groups were set off at intervals but by the finish all had come together and the riders still able to keep up with the hot pace contested the bunch sprint up the drag to the finish line.

Riding his first race of the season, Phil Etches made a bold attempt to the line but he was beaten into third with his team-mates Mark Kokosinksi and Paul Conneely finishing first and second respectively.

Carole Milne won Group One and Dave Moulds was best of Group Four.

Also riding were Crispin Bridges-Webb, Tony Mendham, Gary Rand, Ross Tomblin, Mark Colclough, Rob Johnson, John Farmer and Dave Herd.

l Witham Wheelers’ second club 10-mile time trial saw a record 57 riders take to the start line in Gorse Lane last Tuesday evening.

Leading the way were three Pedal Pushers riders with Jim Coleman, back riding after a break last year, taking a narrow win in 22.01, just five seconds in front of Peter Cocker, with both breaking the course record. Junior Karl Baillie was third in 22.37.

First first-claim club rider was Gary Symons in seventh with 24.00, by seven seconds from Rick Yates who was top veteran on standard. Fastest juvenile was Adam Egner in 25.09 and Jennifer McAndrew (27.06) was quickest lady.

On handicap, 10 riders improved on their previous best time with newcomer Charlie Blow taking almost a minute from his previous week’s best.

For full results visit