CYCLING: Witham Wheelers claim team prize in Spalding 25

Have your say

Witham Wheelers won the team prize in the Spalding CC 25-mile open time trial on Sunday morning.

The best result came from John Pilgrim who finished fourth overall in 58min 1sec.

Other results: Jon Beere 1.00.22, Rick Yates 1.01.11, Martin Hedley 1.02.54, Dave Herd 1.07.50, Tony Hardenberg 1.07.15, Martin Lister 1.08.18.

l The ninth round of Witham Wheelers’ Tuesday evening 10-mile handicap time trial league saw another warm, dry evening with an easterly wind helping the 36 riders up to the second turn, resulting in 15 personal best times.

Quickest rider again was Peter Cocker (Pedal Pushers) just breaking the 22 minute barrier by four seconds.. Four riders were within one minute of him, with junior Reece Egner improving by more than half a minute for a rapid 22.35, just beating John Pilgrim by three seconds and Alistair Golby by six. Karl Hunt dipped under 23 minutes for the first time in 22.54.

Lara Thornhill was fastest lady in 26.14, also a 15-second PB, and on handicap Vicky Saffaris knocked an impressive 92 seconds of her best. Dave Beckett was second with a 44-second reduction.

In the veterans’ competition, Rick Yates took top spot with an impressive +3.08, ahead of Gary Symons (-2.37).

For full results visit