Home   Sport   Article

CYCLING: Witham Wheelers’ guest of honour is ‘trackie’ Snodin

Witham Wheelers prize presentation. Photo: Alan East
Witham Wheelers prize presentation. Photo: Alan East

Guest speaker at the annual Witham Wheelers dinner and prize presentation was former British track rider Jeff Snodin.

Following an enjoyable meal at Belton Park Golf Club, Tony Mendham introduced Jeff who later presented the various cups and awards.

Jeff gave an interesting talk on his cycling career, from his first season in cycling in 1977 when he joined Witham Wheelers so that he could ride a cyclo-cross in Dysart Park, before joining his local club Melton Olympic. From there, Jeff slowly developed before finding his true speciality as a track endurance rider and gaining a place on the national squad.

He then went on to win seven British national championship gold medals and represented England in the 1994 Commonwealth Games in Canada, where he finished sixth at a time when GB teams won few international track medals.

Jeff still rides locally and also gets a lot of enjoyment from encouraging riders into the sport through the Go-Ride scheme and helping the East Midlands Youth track teams.

Simon Cocker introduced the prize winners for the 2015 season and a presentation of flowers was made to Janet East and Chrsitine Edwards in recognition of the time and effort they put into organising such a successful evening.

The evening was rounded of with the usual raffle, which this year included some very nice Team Sky clothing, kindly donated by club life member Rod Ellingworth who is currently head of performance operations with the professional team.

Awards: Ian Galpin - Veterans Hill Climb; Dave Borchard - Jack O’Connor Club “Person” of the Year; Louise George - Ladies Championship 10 mile Shield; Dave Beckett - Merit Award; Carol Milne - Ladies 25 Mile Champion Cup, The Janet East Shield Three Distance Trophy, Ladies Hill Climb Award; Tony Hardenberg - Handicap BAR; John Scott - Tourist Trophy, 100 Mile Cup; Michael Smalley - Veterans 10 mile league on Standard men or women, Most Improved Rider; Trevor White - W. Harris 25 Mile Handicap Cup; Gary Symons - 10 Mile League Award on scratch, 30 Mile Champion Shield, K. F. Baker 50 Mile Cup, G. S. Mallett Senior BAR, Veterans BAR; Sean East - Senior Cyclo Cross; Heidi Moulds - John Edwards Ladies 10 mile League Cup, Freewheel Competition; John Pilgrim - Circuit Time Trial award, The Fred Branston Three Distance Trophy, 10 Mile Senior Male Champion Shield, Fastest 25 mile of the year Shield; Robert McAndrew - John Edwards Juvenile BAR, H. K. James 10 mile Juvenile Champion Cup, Juvenile Cyclo Cross; Ehren Courtman - 10 Mile Handicap League Cup, Juvenile 10 mile League on Handicap boy or girl; Jessica East - Jade Ostler Young Personality; Adam Egner - Junior Hill Climb Award, 10 Mile Junior Champion Award, Barkston Heath Cup Youth Road Race Cup; Reece Egner - Don Ray Senior Hill Climb Cup, John Edwards Memorial fastest club rider in Open 10, David Chantry Memorial Trophy fastest club rider in open 25, Junior BAR, 25 Mile Champion Shield, Junior Cyclo Cross; Llewey Byrne - Road Race Champion Cup; Chris Sammler - Veterans Road Race; Isabel Hobday - Juvenile Hill Climb; Tazmin Brown - 15th overall U12 Cyclo Cross.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More