CYCLING: Witham Wheelers hold prize presentation

Karl Bailliee and Katie Colclough. Photo: Alan East
Karl Bailliee and Katie Colclough. Photo: Alan East
Share this article
Have your say

WITHAM Wheelers’ annual dinner and prize presentation was held at the Angel and Royal Hotel last Saturday with a full house of members and guests enjoying the occasion.

After the meal, Tony Mendham welcomed the guests on behalf of the members and a reply was made by Rod Ellingworth, currently a key member of the Team Sky professional coaching team and club life member.

There then followed a question and answer session with guest of honour Katie Colclough, of Frieston, who rode for the women’s HTC Columbia professional team this year.

Prizes and trophies were presented by Katie, with Tony Mendham winning club person of the year. Peter Cocker, who took most awards was, unable to attend in person as he was competing in the Revolution Track meeting at Manchester.

A lifetime membership certificate was presented to Jeff Ellingworth to honour his contribution to the club over the years, and Peter Storey then presented a certificate of thanks to the club from Kidney Research UK for the money raised over the last three years, since it became the club’s nominated charity.

Other awards: Senior BAR - M. Lewis, Handicap BAR - N. Sentance, Veteran BAR M. Lewis, Junior BAR - P. Cocker, Juvenile BAR - K. Baillee, 50-mile Cup - C. Carter, 30-mile Shield - N. Sentance, 25-mile Shield - J. Carlos, 10-mile Shield - P. Cocker, 10-mile Junior Champion - P. Cocker, 10-mile Juvenile Champion - K. Baillee, Fastest 25 of the Year - J. Coleman, 25-mile Handicap Cup - J. Farmer, Three-distance Shield - P. Conneely, 10-mile League Cup - J. Farmer, Junior 10-mile League - P. Cocker, Juvenile 10-mile League - A. Egner, Ladies’ 10-mile League - Carol Milne, Veteran 10-mile League - D. Moulds, Circuit Time Trial Champion - P. Cocker, Road Race Champion - P. Cocker, Veteran Road Race Award - R. Tomlin, Senior Cyclo-cross Champion - S. Cocker, Junior Cyclo-cross Champion - P. Cocker, Juvenile Cyclo-cross Champion - Eleanor Crawford, Hill Climb Champion - K. Baillee, Junior Hill Climb Shield - P. Cutmore, Juvenile Hill Climb - K. Baillee, Freewheeling Champion - R. Barratt-Duckett, Tourist of the Year - W. Harrison, Merit Trophy - H. Browning, Most Improved Rider of the Year - Suzanne Holdsworth.