CYCLING: Witham Wheelers perform well in national 10TT

Karl Baillie. Photo: Alan East
Karl Baillie. Photo: Alan East
Have your say

Four Witham Wheelers youngsters contested the GHS National Juvenile 10-mile Time Trial Championships at Lutterworth on Saturday, having qualified for the event in the Lincolnshire heat earlier in the season.

On a hilly course on narrow country lanes, with a fair bit of wind, times were down but there were some great rides to see the Wheelers well up in the overall standings of the 150-rider field.

Best placed was Karl Baillie who finished an excellent sixth in 23min 6sec, less than half a minute behind winner Calum Anderton (Motivo RT). Continuing to improve, Reece Egner (23.34) was less than a minute down himself to take 12th place.

Jenny McAndrew also rode well to finish seventh in the girls’ event and 81st overall in 26.59. Her brother, Robert (30.17), produced a good time in the youngest age category for 117th overall.

l Ridden in conjunction with the LRRA 30 at Boston last Sunday, the Wheelers’ 30-mile time trial championship was won by Martin Hedley in 1.13.10.

Runner-up was Rick Yates in 1.15.31 followed by Dave Herd (1.25.24) and Robert McAndrew (1.39.04).

l Four Wheelers rode the ANDCC 25 at Granby on Sunday, on a shortened course due to roadworks.

Fastest of the quartet was Jon Pilgrim who recorded 55.54, with Martin Hedley clocking 57.34 and Jon Beere 59.11. Paul Fairey did not finish.

l The 16th and final round of Witham Wheelers’ 10-mile handicap time trial league took place on Gorse Lane last Tuesday.

Almost perfect conditions encouraged 35 riders to compete and there were some fast times recorded. Winner was juvenile Karl Baillie in a nippy 22.30, with triathlete Patrick Cutmore breaking the 23 minute barrier for the first time in 22.49.

Eleanor Crawford was quickest lady in 27.16 and tied with John Pilgrim on 146 points to share the overall season-long handicap league victory. The veterans’ competition was won by Martin Hedley with 231 points and the scratch competition saw Patrick Cutmore triumph with 227 points.

l More information at