Home   Sport   Article

CYCLING: Witham Wheelers quartet finish four in stage race

Witham Wheelers' stage racing quartet chill out before the team time trial.
Witham Wheelers' stage racing quartet chill out before the team time trial.

Witham Wheelers road racers Llewey Byrne, Martyn Ludlam, Reece Egner and Adam Egner travelled to Southwick on Sunday to take part in a 60-strong 2/3/4 category stage race.

Stage one was a five-mile team time trial in which the Wheelers quartet managed to finish eighth out of 15 teams, keeping all four riders men up there for the GC.

The second stage was a 65-mile road race round an undulating six-mile circuit. Reece made a break on the first lap and was allowed to stay away for three laps, but was brought back in by the bunch.

Other breakaway attempts were made but nothing was allowed to get away.

With four laps remaining, a split occurred, with 20 riders going clear, including Reece. Adam and Llewey tried to get across to the group with a couple of others and Llewey made it, but an attack to get back on saw Adam get dropped and he went back to what was left of the group.

In the finish, it was Reece who took first Wheeler, finishing eighth with Llewey in 12th. Martyn was next in 29th, with Adam 31st.

Overall it was a great result as the Witham Wheelers moved up to take fourth team overall.

l Thirty-eight riders rode the sixth round of the Witham Wheelers time trial league on Tuesday night.

Quickest rider on the evening was Reece Egner in 22min 13sec, with Louise George quickest of the ladies.. fastest youth rider was Josh Gibson who dipped under the 20mph barrier.

On handicap it was Chris Crawford and Stephen Hobday topped the veterans.

Results: 1 Reece Egner 22:13, 2 John Pilgrim 23:09, 3 Henry Gould 24:31, 4 Stephen Hobday 24:39, 5 Ian Galpin 24:45, 6 Simon Cocker 25:04, 7 Chris Pugh 25:08 PB, 8 Mick Egner 25:17, 9 Michael Smalley 25:25, 10 Mark Wilson 25:29, 11 Harry Edwards 25:42 PB, 12 Mark Bailey 25:49, 13 Chris Masters 26:15 PB, 14 Tony Hardenberg 26:39, 15 Gary Tudbury 26:58, 16 Louise George 26:59, 17 Chris Crawford 27:00, 18 Mike Goddard 27:21, 19 Wayne Searle 27:28, 19 John Pygott 27:28, 21 Gavin Kettle 27:39 PB, 22 Lara Thornhill 27:43, 23 Guy Haws 27:51, 24 Dave Herd 28:41, 25 Phil Smith 28:44, 26 Tracey George 28:56, 27 Carol Milne 29:02, 28 Bill Harrison 29:09 PB, 29 Joshua Gibson 29:44, 30 Phil Gibson 30:20, 31 Mick Smith 30:44, 32 Julie Clark 31:40, 33 Anna Littlefoot 31:46, 34 Joshua Kettle 32:02 PB, 35 Adrian Jones 32:27 PB, 36 Andrea Egner 33:40, 37 Andrea Galpin 34:22, 38 Evangeline Searle 38:49.

Sign on for Tuesday’s seventh round at Grantham Cricket Club on Gorse Lane at 6pm. First rider starts 6.45pm. All welcome.

l Witham Wheelers promote their two annual two open road races on Bank Holiday Monday.

The 50-mile GT Ellingworth for 3/4 category riders starts at 9.30am and the 80-mile GA Bennett for E123 category riders begins at 1.15pm. Event HQ is at Grantham Cricket Club and the course is a 12-mile circuit from Wyville to Saltby, Sproxton, Skillington and back via Ponton Heath.

With sponsorship from Pedalpushers Cycle Shop, of Inner Street, and quality 60-rider fields for each event, there promises to be some exciting racing.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More