Harrowby United remain unbeaten

Arrows man-of-the-match Sam Weatherstone.
Arrows man-of-the-match Sam Weatherstone.
Have your say

United Counties League

Division One



Harrowby United 1

Burton Park Wanderers 0

Harrowby United’s unbeaten start to the season continued at the Environcom Stadium on Tuesday night, with a clean sheet to boot.

The Arrows came through by the only goal of the game, a Sam Kirton penalty in a very even game with a much improved performance.

Chances were few and far between early in the first half, both sides cancelling each other out. Wanderers thought they had grabbed the lead in the 26th minute when a cross from the left was headed past home custodian Jack Drury, only to be ruled out for offside.

Harrowby’s best opening of the half came in the 40th minute when a great run from Scott Webb saw him find Lee Shaw whose shot was well saved by Craig Patterson in the visitors’ goal.

Two minutes later, the Arrows should have gone in front when a cross into the Burton Park area was met by skipper Simon Bolland’s head, but the effort was too close to Patterson, allowing him to make a comfortable save.

It was more of the same in the second period, chances at a premium, as neither side really grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck.

The deciding moment came in the 67th minute when Arrows striker Craig Wilson burst into the Wanderers area and was brought down. Referee Mr Dodds immediately pointed to the spot and the penalty was coolly despatched by Kirton to give the Arrows the lead.

The advantage was almost doubled on 71 minutes when a cross-field ball found Bobby Lee who placed his shot from the left narrowly wide.

United’s defensive unit saw the game through to the end, the only real scare needing an excellently timed tackle from Jack Whyley on the edge of the box to snuff out the danger.

Harrowby United’s man of the match was Sam Weatherstone and match ball sponsor was Hits Consultancy.

Harrowby United: Drury, Weatherstone, Preston, Hill, Whyley, Webb (Lee, 64), Harper, Kirton, Bolland (c), Shaw, Wilson. Subs not used: Reidy, Gibson, Vorley, Jaques.