Home   Sport   Article

GOLF: Anna is new Belton Park ladies’ club champion

Belton Park ladies' club championship trophy presentation.
Belton Park ladies' club championship trophy presentation.

An important event in the calendar saw Belton Park ladies battle out their club championship last Tuesday.

Emerging victorious as new club champion was Anna Clark who won the 27-hole gross competition. Anna was presented with the silverware by Jean Oakley who donated the trophy back in 1993. Runner-up was Jane Renfrew.

The 27-hole net club champion was Joy Stepney, with Marjie Thompson in second place.

Donna Hayle triumphed in the Twenty Fifteen 18-hole medal net competition. Runner-up was Elizabeth Sharp, with Gill Briggs in third.

Donna with Jacqui Barson also won the American Greensomes competition, with 45 points, three ahead of second placed Pam Mackey and Jan Johnson. Third with 40 points on countback were Liz Duckmanton and Barbara Robinson.

l Belton Park held its 55th Flowers Mixed Open on Sunday.

A tremendous field of 72 pairs of golfers from near and far competed for the title, with Nottinghamshire GC pair Graham Elliott and June McFarlane triumphing on the day with an excellent 41 points.

Other results: 2 Adrian Van Biljon and Jackie Wilson 41, 3 Paul Perrin and Shirley Kink 40, 4 Derek and Yvonne Basford 40, 5 Gordon and Penny Cairns 39, 6 Dick and Josie Short 39.


Belton Park seniors visited Lincoln last Wednesday when they narrowly lost a hard-fought match, on a perfectly prepared course.

Results: Trevor Collis and Dave Dobney lost 5&4, Alan Addis and Fred Williams lost 2&1, John Newton and Mike Monaghan lost 3&2, Bill Brogan and Paul Skelton lost 6&5, Manny Barker and Ron Prothero won 2&1, Brian Mole and Dave Martin halved, Mike Bower and Steve White haled, Steve Calvert and Nigel Beaumont won 2&1.


Seacroft 2½

Belton Park 5½

Joy and Andy Stepney won 4&3, Sheila and Colin Mason won 4&3, Carol and John Taylor halved, Sue Walker-Sherriff and Ben Bayliss won 3&2, Jose Short and David Harris won 2&1, Nicola Routledge and Greg Begy won 1-up.


Belton Park gents’ Centenary Medal was played on Saturday and won with net 62 by Graham Anderson. Runner-up was Dean Scott with 66, on countback from Tom Cooper.

C Team

Belton Park C 4

Burghley Park 2

Father and son pairing Simon and Ross Denton secured a superb away win at Burghley Park with a birdie on the last hole.

Taking the honours as top pair were Ben Bayliss and Roy Allen with an outstanding 5&3 win.

All in all, it was a splendid result for Belton Park as it completed the double over Burghley Park.

Results (Belton Park names first): Tony Davies and Ian Carroll beat Richard Cook and David Shales 1-up; Ross Denton and Simon Denton beat Bob Emmins and Alan Swindley 1-up; Keith Smith and Martin Clarke beat Paul Redfern and Phil Bell 2&1; Ben Bayliss and Roy Allan beat Peter Kelleher and David Riley 5&3; Bob Rogers and Dave Lee lost to Stuart Ward and Graham Bedford 3&1; Andrew MacGowan and Stuart Smith lost to Mike Beaumont and Mick Chapman 4&3.



Stoke Rochford 5½

Oundle 2½

To commemorate the occasion in 2006 when Oundle seniors defeated Stoke Rochford to end their 52-match unbeaten home record, the teams compete annually for the ‘52 Match Plate’.

Stoke successfully retained the trophy this year with a comfortable win.

Results: Graham Manton and Don Werner won 1-up, Don Clements and Barry Coop halved, Greg Ewart and David Hamilton won 4&3, Brian Keightley and Barry Gaunt won 2&1, Keith Dugmore and Ray Elsome won 4&3, Roland Slack and Mike Graves won 9&7, Tim Haward and Mike Dickinson lost 1-down, Chris Woof and Stephen Major lost 1-down.

In round three of the six-round Seniors Trophy competition, Don Clements won the day with a solid 39 points to take the overall lead with a three round total of 111 points. Second on the day with 36 points on countback was Trevor Harvey, from Mike Palmer.

Richard Leverett dropped to second place overall with 107 points, and David Hamilton is third with 102.


The Ping Tournament was won at the club by Chris Rowley and Pauline Haggerty with a score of 40 points. Runners-up with 39 were Karen Rawson and Judy Rawson, three clear of Sheila Dugmore and Roni Proctor.

Stoke Rochford Ladies’ Open was won by the club’s own Judy Rawson with a net 71. Chris Rowley was second with 73 on countback from Cathy Lee.

The gross prize was won by Helen Lowe, of Scraptoft, with 80.

l Twenty-one ladies competed for the Coronation Cup which was won by Jane Mantel with a net 70. Runner-up with 71 was Cate Cullington, one point ahead of Judy Rawson.

The Wednesday Medal was won by Phillippa Smith with a net 71. Second was Karen Rawson with 73, two points clear of Judy Rawson. Gross prize went to Pauline Haggerty (90).



Belton Woods A team beat Spalding 2½-1½ at home with the team comprising Trudi Galloway, Jackie Wilson, Lisa Liu, Lesley Perrin, Val Williams, Lorraine Robertson, Kim Davies and Tracey Streeter.

Belton Woods B team also had an excellent 2½-1½ win away at Burghley Park. The team consisted of Wendy Stewart, Steph Lee, Gaynor Daykin, Pat Welsh, Carole Stothard, Fiona Illingworth, Pat Haynes and Becky Foster.

The June Medal was won by Lorraine Robertson (silver division) with net 73 and Carole Stothard (72) in the bronze division.

The mixed friendly team played at Greetham Valley and triumphed 4-2.


The Annual Invitation Team Am-Am was held at the weekend attracted a grand turnout.

The format of two stableford scores to count on 17 holes and that testing requirement of four to count on the 18th, as usual, sorted out the final placings.

The spot prizes of Gents’ Longest Drive trophy was won by home member Michael Green, and guest Gaynor Daykin, of Belton Woods, whotook home the ladies’ glassware.

Nearest the Pin challenges went to home member Keith Maclachlan, on the par three seventh, and to visitor Keith Oswin for his finest strike at the 12th.

The twos sweep was hugely popular and yielded generous dividends for Eddie Markham, Andy Macdonald, Keith Maclachlan and Fiona Hutton (2).

The 18th hole aggregate score most decidedly clinched the first prize for Andrew Green’s team, The Lincoln Imps, comprising of Fiona Hutton, Keith Maclachlan and guest Gary Scott.

Others: 2 The Boston Earlies (Dave Guy, Carole Guy, Paul Williamson, Andrew Woodall), 3 The Gonerby Clockpelters (Orlando Pabunan, Onie Ison, Ronie Alipio, Rob Mazuryk), 4 The Impish Internationals (Barry Rohland, Allan Griggs, Jamie Rohland, Kyle Rohland), The Dambusters (Michael Green, Paul Green, Terry Guest, Andy Macdonald) 5 The Red Arrows (Amanda Roberts, Hnin Shein, Anne Meadows, Gaynor Daykin).


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More