Home   Sport   Article

GOLF: Belton Park ‘Dream Team’ enjoy end of season competition

Pictured from left are Belton Park's John Cooke, club captain Tony Nickson, Dream Team captain Tony Davies, Nigel Beaumont and Bill Clarke.
Pictured from left are Belton Park's John Cooke, club captain Tony Nickson, Dream Team captain Tony Davies, Nigel Beaumont and Bill Clarke.

Belton Park’s end of season ‘Dream Team’ Am-Am was once again a tremendous success.

The format was a teams of three stableford with two scores counting on each hole, played off full handicap.

The winning team of John Cooke, Nigel Beaumont and Bill Clarke came in with a terrific score of 82 points.

Club captain Tony Nickson presented the trophies and prizes and congratulated the Dream Team on another outstanding season, with only three matches lost out of 19 played.

John Cooke was presented with a special award for collecting the money more times than anyone else at the matches, which he accepted with great humility.

Dream Team captain Tony Davies thanked everyone who played in the team for their support throughout the campaign. He also thanked Lorraine, Sue and Tom for providing a superb buffet for the Am-Am competition.

Am-Am results: 1 John Cooke, Bill Clarke and Nigel Beaumont 82; 2 Bob Rogers, Andy Macgowan and Richard Claxton 80 ocb; 3 Dick Short, Olly Mitchell and David Winfield 80; 4 Andy Stepney, David Capindale and Eddie Bone; 5 Ben Bayliss, Stewart Boylan and Dave Wing 78.


Fifteen Stoke Rochford ladies played for the Innocent Vase in a par competition.

Marion Carvath came out on top with a score of 1, runner up was Carol Hamilton with 0 and Sheila Dugmore took third place with -2.

The end of season Feminine Fiasco, a competition for all the ladies who have represented the club in matches over the season, was played as a team event.

The winning team of Elaine Kirby, Avis Griffin and Joan Lennard scored 85, runners up Sue Bellingall, Pauline Haggerty and Sheila Dugmore scored 82, and third place was taken by Roseanne McKee, Sue Booth and Dorne Werner.

The 50 Up Cup, with 20 ladies competing, was won by Carol Hamilton with a net 74. Runner up on countback, also with 74, was Marion Carvath whilst Sue Bellingall took third place with a net 75.

The last competition of the season was the Golden Jubilee Trophy presented to the Ladies Club’ by Ruth Greenfield, who presented the prizes of this medal competition.

In first place was Chris Rowley with a net 71, ahead of runner up Elaine Kirby with 75. Third place on countback was Carol Hamilton, also with 75. Pam Watson took the gross prize with a score of 84, playing off a handicap of five.



Toft 3

Belton Woods 4

Pat Stanford and Alan Lowen lost 3-1, Colin Musson and Ian Nisbet won 4-3, Colin Thornton and Dave Toule lost 3-2, Ken Claxon and John Bratt won 1 up, John Williams and Dave Inglis lost 4-2, Mike Whitington and Les Vine won 2-1, George Forbes and Peter Bishop won 2-1, Tom Rea and Mick Hall lost 2-1.

Belton Woods Seniors 4½

Belton Woods Ladies 2½

Pat Stanford and Ray Woodcock won 6-5, Colin Musson and John Williams won 3-2, Ken Claxon and Gary Waterfield won 4-3, Hilton Moses and Colin Thornton lost 2-1, Alan Lowen and Mike Whitington won 2-1, George Forbes and Dave Toole lost 4-3, Norman Tidy and Les Vine halved.


A name to watch at Sudbrook Moor is Jon Machin who beat CSS by five shots in the October Sunday Stableford, reducing his handicap by one to a new low of 8.7.

Jon’s scorecard of 44 points comprised two nines of 22 points. He also made very significant headway on the six month Summer Eclectic, due to finish this week.

Phil Hall came in second on 42 points, two under, and moved down to 8.0 handicap. Bob Watson, Paul Brough and Mick Lincoln all shared scores of 41 points, with Darren Nicholson one point further adrift.

Best of Division 4, for handicaps 22-28, was teenager Lewis Anthony on 40 points, ahead of Dave Winter.

Jo Pearson was best of the ladies’ stableford and earned a new handicap of 12.6, reduced by 0.3. Rookie Zoe Martin was runner-up.

l Darren Nicholson on Saturday brought home the best of The Rainbow stableford scorecards with a fabulous 46 points, and his handicap was pared right down to 13.

A great scorecard of 24 out and 22 on the way back, beating CSS by five shots. Darren enjoyed two birdie two on his scorecard, on hole numbers 12 and 16, but was not part of the sweep.

Allan Griggs was second on 45 points and Onie Ison was third on 44 points, with William McLaren next with 43. Other super scores were returned by John McLaren, 42, Cameron Sunman 40, Andy Newman, Andrew Ingleton and Paul Stephens, all on 39.

The twos sweep was shared by Colin Henfrey (hole 12), Keith Moore (16) and Allan Griggs (7).

The Overall Rainbow championship is still open to many. The leader scores in The Rainbow Order of Merit, after 10 events, with two remaining, are: Onie Ison 246, Ronie Alipio 239, Andy Newman 236, Orlando Pabunan 235, Jeff Ward 229, Michael Coupland 229, Chris Wilmot 229, Paul McCarthy 228, Malcolm Edward 227, Barry Pogson 226, Barry Rohland 223.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More