Home   Sport   Article

GOLF: Newman’s back nine wins Sudbrook Moor ‘Ace of the Year’


Forty-one members qualified for the “all-winners” event – The Ace of the Year – having been overall victors of a main club qualifying competition during last year.

Now in its second year, The Ace was enthusiastically supported by both ladies and gents in a stableford format.

On the day, it was a convincing back nine score that made the difference between the winner and those who were left just wishing their putt had dropped on the 18th green.

Eighteen-handicap Andy Newman was never expecting his 36 points to be in the running but it was he who took the overall victory.

Carding 16 points on the front nine, he was determined to tidy up on the back nine and accumulated 20. And it made all the difference as it was the best of the entire field, pipping 26-handicap Christopher Wilmot, also on 36, by a single point on the back nine.

Others on 36 points left to rue their errors were Jon Machin and Jim Garriock. Best lady was Yvonne Geach.


Eight teams of two ladies and two seniors played an Am-Am format competition with the best joint stableford scores to count.

The weather was dry and the sun broke through the cold mist about mid-morning to create very pleasant playing conditions.

The team playing last won the day with 82 points. After the match, all the players enjoyed soup, sandwiches and chips in the clubhouse.

Results: 1 Duncan Bennett, Tim Haward, Norma Varley and Kathy Horner, 2 Graham Manton, Mike Dickinson, Roseanne McKee and Dorne Werner, 3 Charles Scott, Ken Taylor, Avis Griffin and Marian Carvath.


Belton Woods’ incoming captains Harry McKeen and Wendy Stewart hosted their drive-ins on Sunday.

Eighty-four players made the most of fantastic weather conditions and a great day was had by all to start off the golf season, with some great results.

The captains’ drives, which involved a members sweepstake, were duly measured by vice-captain Paul Perrin, with Harry driving 185 yards and Wendy 133.

Pairs betterball results winners were Chris and Allan Haynes with 44 points. Chris also won the longest drive.

Runners-up on countback, also with 44 points, were Jean Paul Bowers and Dan Fowler, and Colin Sneesby and Lisa Liu finished third with 42. Lisa and Colin also won nearest the pin,

Longest drive for the ladies was won by Val Williams.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More