Home   Sport   Article

GOLF: Rawson defends Stoke Rochford memorial title

Chris Jones Memorial
Chris Jones Memorial

The Chris Jones Memorial Trophy took place last Saturday the 25th July with 115 Stoke Rochford members and 66 guests taking part throughout the day.

The weather was kind which was reflected in the scoring.

Last year’s winner Ben Rawson successfully defended the trophy with a great score of 41 points, winning first spot on a countback from two other players.

The gross prize was won by guest Tom Robson, from Weymouth, with a score of 66 (40pt - net points 37). Steve Greenfield took the second gross prize with 36 points.

Other results: ladies’ prize winners – 1 Karen Rawson (member), 2 Penny Hallam (guest), 3 Judy Rawson (member), 4 Linda Barclay (member); gents’ member prize winners – 1 Kevin Bishop, 2 Richard Baker, 3 Simon Glover, 4 Eddie Malloy; gents’ guest prize winners – 1 Les Toyne, 2 Perry Storey, 3 Gavin Pervis, 4 Seb Firmin; nearest the pin (hole in one on the 12th) – Martin Cawser (member); straightest drive at the 10th – Mark Layfield (guest).

The family – Barry, Rachel, Will and Mandy – expressed thanks to everyone for helping throughout the day, for all the raffle donations and support from all family, friends, guests and members in helping the day become a great success.

Following an auction of four items and the raffle, proceeds for the Lincs and Notts Air Ambulance amounted to £2,500.

Pictured are winner Ben Rawson (second from left) with Chris’s family – mother Rachel, father Barry and brother Will.


Lincoln 3

Stoke Rochford 5

Graham Manton and Roger Smith won 2 up, Mike Dickinson and Roland Slack lost 2&1, Phil White and David Hamilton lost 2 down, Brian Keightley and Ray Elsome won 3&1, Dave Hamston and Charles Donnison won 2&1, John Wright and Stephen Major won 3&2, Brian Ayto and Mike Graves lost 6&4, Barry Coop and Keith Dugmore won 5&4.


C Team

Belton Park enjoyed an impressive 6-0 victory over Sleaford, with all six pairs recording wins.

Stewart Boyland, playing with team captain Tony Davies, was in terrific form, as was Dave Lee and Ben Bayliss who took the honours as top pair in the match.

Results: Belton names first – Tony Davies and Stewart Boyland beat John Marriott and Tim Sutton 4&3, Paul Woods and Colin Mason beat Ian Harkness and Jim Shore 1 up, Richard Claxton and Simon Denton beat Roy Hunter and Ian Poole 3&2, Ian Carroll and David Capindale beat Bob Ewan and Dave Stanley 5&4, Dave Lee and Ben Bayliss beat Bill Gault and John Bateman 6&5, Keith Smith and Dick Short beat Keith Leader and Kev Cordukes 1 up.

l Sunday saw Belton Park play host to golfers from all over the region as they competed in the Aveling and Barford open.

On what turned out to be a fine but blustery day, players found the Brownlow course in fine order.

Results: 1 Mr Mitchell and team 87 points, 2 Mr Tupper and team 86, 3 Mr Evans and team 86, 4 One Shot Too Many 85, 5 Bingham Babes 85, 6 Mr Baker and team 82.

l The Family Cup was won by Tom Parry and Anita Bartys. Runners-up were Harry Glenn and Ed Glenn, with Derek and Yvonne Bashford in third.


The Ladies’ Invitation Day was won by Anna Clark and Sue Smith (Coxmoor). In second place were Sheila Mason and Lisa Lui (Belton Woods), ahead of Ina Wood and Jo Pearson (Sudbrook Moor).

Other results: Best Front 9 – Sandra Pask and Arienne Brightman, Best Back 9 – Liz Duckmanton and Michelle Duckmanton (Sherwood Forest); Longest Drive Guest – Cathy Lee (Toft), Longest Drive Member – Anna Clark; Nearest the Pin Guest – Adrienne Brightman (Radcliffe on Trent), Nearest the Pin Member – Sandra Pask; Putting Guest – Michelle Duckmanton (Sherwood Forest),

Putting Member – Elizabeth Sharp.


Blankney 3½

Belton Park 4½

Joy and Andy Stepney lost 4&3, Sheila and Colin Mason lost 2&1, Sue Walker-Sheriff and Lloyd Courtenay won 2&1, Annette Fordham and Ian Mason won 4&3, Pam and James Wiggins halved, Lisa White and Alan Addis halved, Ina Wood and Ben Bayliss halved, Jose and Dick Short won 1 hole.


Spalding 5

Belton Park 3

Trevor Collis and Peter Brooks lost 6&5, Paul Skelton and Colin Farrington lost 3&2, Dave Dobney and Tony Noble won 4&3, Bill Brogan and Fred Williams lost 6&4, Graham Secker and Steve White lost 5&3, Ray Clark and Brian Mole lost 5&4, Derek Little and Tony Davies won 6&5, Dave Martin and Nigel Beaumont won 2&1.


Belton Woods seniors captain Pat Stanford held his Captain’s Day on the Lakes course, on which 50 players competed for the many prizes on offer.

In a closely fought competition, John Williams eventually won the Stableford event with 39 points, from Ray Woodcock (also 39). Tony Slipper finished third with 36.

Mike Whitington emerged victorious in a very closely fought Marshall’s Monthly Medal competition, winning by one strike.

Results: 1 Mike Whitington net 70, 2 Dave Toule 71 ocb, 3 Denny Pang 71, 4 George Forbes 72 ocb, 5 Tony Slipper 72, 6 Bob Clarke 73 ocb, 7 Gary Waterfield 73 ocb, 8 Ian Nisbet 73 ocb, 9 Mick Hall 73, 10 Ken Claxon 74.


Belton Woods B Team played Sleaford and won 3½-½ to clinch the league title and promotion to Division Two next year.

The team comprised Steph Lee, Judi Downward, Heidi Rees, Carole Stothard, Fiona Illingworth, Pat Haynes, Becky Foster and Jacqui Francis.


Sue Hutton returned a scorecard of 39 points, to earn a new exact handicap of 29.6, and win the Tuesday Ladies’ Roll-Up.

There was a countback for second and third prizes with two very fine scores of 37, with Joan Alton pipping Maureen Bradford. Jenny Hilton continued to play well with a card of 35 points.

l In a grand field of 43 competitors, senior vice-captain Graham Mackinder was very much on form in the last Thursday Roll-Up stableford of July, with a handicap reducing card of 41 points.

Graham’s back nine score pipped Mick Massingham’s 23 out and 18 homeward into second spot overall, and both players are in Category 3.

Best of Category 4 was Francis Haw on 38, followed by Melvin Clarricoats 37. Other great performances were Mick Beasley on 39 in Category 3, Teddy Johnson 38, with Roy Nelson, Dave Guy, John Costall and John Chatburn all on 37.

l The July Texas Scramble Medal must have been a club record for the seniors, with a net nine under SSS.

Team leader John Chatburn with Clive Watson and Walter Hrubesch scored three better than the second placed team of John Costall, Ron Selby and John Came. Also two under SSS were Frank Brumpton, Tim Newbery and Barry Kay. Graham Mackinder, Max Travis and newcomer Pete Fallat were fourth.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More