Home   Sport   Article

GOLF: Sudbrook Moor enjoy winning last result


Sudbrook Moor’s scratch A Team enjoyed a satisfying final result in their first season newly-promoted to the South Lincolnshire Division Two.

After 10 fixtures, comprising four wins, two halved matches and four losses, from which they gained 10 Order of Merit points, the team with its final match wriggled from fourth place into third of six clubs, just displacing Boston into fourth spot by a single point. The vital last victory of the season ended Sudbrook Moor 4 Boston 2, on home turf.

In his second season as team skipper, Bruce MacFarlane and his squad rightly feel that they have made yet another mark on this division, as a young club of less than 30 years standing, amongst the very established clubs, some of which have been putting down roots for a century and more,

The squad members were Simon Green, Jim Sergeant, Martin Corby, Rob Keddie, Simon Pullen, Josh Smith, Graham Ritchie, Michael Green, Pete Martin, Keith Maclachlan, Nigel Corby, Phil Hall, Neil Baker, Paul Leachman, Martin Greene and Andrew Green.

l Sudbrook Moor completes its county season with the privileged hosting of the annual autumn championship for all the Lincolnshire nine-hole golf clubs on Sunday, September 20, when they will contest the Rita Hurst Trophy of which they are the current title holders.

Teams of four will be coming from Sutton Bridge, Boston’s Kirton Holme, north of the county’s Grimsby area, and Lincoln’s Pottergate.



Stoke Rochford 5½

Stanton on the Wolds 2½

Mike Nixon and Alan Jessop lost 2&1, Graham Manton and Brian Ayto won 3&2, Stephen Major and John Wright won 3&2, Mike Thornton and Duncan Bennett won 3&1, Trevor Harvey and Roland Slack won 1 up, Ken Taylor and Ray Beal lost 2&1, Philip Varley and Roger Nicholls won 2&1, Barry Mitchell and John Batty halved.

Glen Gorse 5

Stoke Rochford 3

Mike Nixon and Keith Dugmore lost 2&1, Brian Ayto and Eddie Plant lost 2&1, Brian White and Ernie Armstrong lost 1 down, Greg Ewart and John Wright won 1 up, Don Werner and Roy Rowe won 9&7, Barry Coop and Ray Elsome lost 6&5, Don Clements and Alan Jessop lost 4&3, Roger Smith and Dave Hamston won 4&2.



Del House was the clear winner of the Tom Lambert Cup competition, winning by five points.

Results: 1 Del House 47, 2 Jeff Tooms 42 ocb, 3 Mike Whitington 42, 4 Paul Stanley 41 ocb, 5 Richard James, 6 Colin Thornton 40 ocb, 7 Tony Slipper 40, 8 Phil Turrell 39, 9 Tin Win 38, 10 Hilton Moses 37.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More