Home   Sport   Article

GOLF: Sudbrook Moor settle for draw after just missing out on opening day victory


Sudbrook Moor’s newly-promoted Scratch ‘A’ Team, under the experienced leadership of captain Bruce MacFarlane, in his second year of office, took on Toft Hotel GC at home last Saturday.

The outcome was a highly creditable 3-3 halved affair, with Sudbrook Moor just missing out on a 4-2 victory when a close match was snatched by the visitors on the 18th green.

Sudbrook Moor were promoted to Division Two of the South Lincolnshire League at the end of last season, whilst Toft were relegated from the first to the second, so it was a very promising and exciting result for Bruce and his squad in their first competitive clash of the season.

l Again skippered by Bruce, Sudbrook Moor were drawn against near-neighbours Sleaford GC in the first round of the county-wide Elsham Scratch Foursomes Trophy competition.

It was an exciting evening at home with first pair Martin Corby and Josh Smith winning their match against Sleaford’s youthful talent.

With each game going to the 18th green and an aggregate scores to count, it was the visitors who emerged victorious with two wins. Sudbrook Moor’s James Sergeant was paired with Michael Green, and Bruce with Simon Green.



Stoke Rochford 4

Greetham Valley 4

Mike Nixon and Barry Gaunt lost 2 down, Graham Manton and David Hamilton won 6&5, Mike Dickinson and Duncan Bennett lost 4&3, Mick Rance and Philip Varley won 6&5, Ernie Armstrong and Greg Ewart won 4&2, Keith Dugmore and Brian Keightley won 2&1, Eddie Plant and Barry Coop lost 3&1, John Smeeton and Roland Slack lost 2&1.


Belton Woods’ first silverware competition of the year was played in glorious conditions.

The Kirk Gibb Cup was won by the trio of P. Otter, C. Sneesby and R. Palframan with 83 points.

Others: 2 A. Williams/L. Williams/K. Keep 80, 3 T. Hedley/A. Haynes/B. Foster on 79 points, 4 B. Robinson/P Perrin/S Pigott 78 ocb, 5 D. Richardson/R. Connelly/N. Whales 78.


Les Vine emerged victorious in a closely fought battle for the Marshall’s Monthly April Medal.

Results: 1 Les Vine net 73 ocb, 2 Ian Nisbet 73 ocb, 3 Danny Pang 73, 4 Pat Stanford 74, 5 Del House 75 ocb, 6 Ken Claxon 75, 7 John Sabin 77 ocb, 8 George Forbes 77 ocb, 9 Colin Musson 77, 10 Roger Hanratty 78.

The April Monthly Stableford was won by John Williams by two clear points.

Results: 1 John Williams 39, 2 Pete Stephenson 37 ocb, 3 Norman Tidy 37, 4 Tony Slipper 36, 5 Colin Thornton 35, 6 Danny Pang 34 ocb, 7 Pat Stanford 34, 8 George Forbes 33, 9 Roger Hanratty 32, 10 Ian Nisbet 32.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More