Home   Sport   Article

GOLF: Ten foot putt secures historic Belton Park victory

Belton Woods mixed open winners Gaynor Daykin and Rob Palframan.
Belton Woods mixed open winners Gaynor Daykin and Rob Palframan.

Making his debut for Belton Park C-team, Peter Claxton sank a 10ft winning putt on the final hole to secure an historic first 6-0 victory away over Greetham Valley.

Both teams enjoyed an excellent match after the meal.

Greetham Valley 0

Belton Park 6

Belton Park names first – Tony Davies and Ian Carroll beat Neil Sellars and Frank Hinch 2&1, Steve Mitchell and Martin Clarke beat John Holdroyd and Jim Wheeler 2&1, Simon Whitton and Robert Pask beat Michael Fish and Wayne Terrett 5&4, Stuart Boylan and Roy Allen beat Bill Skinner and Geoff Woolly 5&4, Ben Bayliss and Andrew Macgowan beat Kim Ng and Ken Upton 4&3, Simon Denton and Peter Claxton beat Peter Key and Trevor Hatley 1 up.



Stoke Rochford 5½

Scraptoft 2½

Mike Nixon and Roger Nicholls halved, Graham Manton and Tim Haward won 7&5, Charles Scott and Don Clements won 4&3, Brian Keightley and Duncan Bennett lost 2&1, Ernie Armstrong and David Hamilton won 6&5, Ken Taylor and Mike Graves halved, Don Werner and Phil White won 5&4, Mike Thornton and John Wright halved.



Belton Woods ladies hosted their annual mixed open on Bank Holiday Monday.

With prizes for visiting pairs and home pairs, the day was a fabulous success.

Belton Woods results: 1 Rob Palframan and Gaynor Daykin (42 ocb), 2 Pete and Carole Stothard (42), 3 Jackie Wilson and Dan Duthie (39 ocb), 4 Matt Haynes and Betty Ellis (39).


Eighteen handicap Darren Nicholson won a Sudbrook Moor major and his first trophy at the week-end when a mixed field of 41 contested the May monthly Medal, played in conjunction with the Ken Crowe Challenge Trophy.

Darren’s two solid, evenly matched nines comprised of nine gross pars, and even thhise double bogey on the fifth was immediately off-set by a birdie two on the sixth.

The day’s CSS was higher than usual, resulting in Darren’s scorecard of seven cutting his handicap to 15.0.

Runner-up was Andy Newman, three shots adrift, and he will be very pleased that his 19 handicap was adjusted to 17.5. Andy also leads the Year’s Order of Merit, The Sword of Achievement.

Five handicap Bruce MacFarlane came in equal third and also won the Best Gross score prize. Kevin Turner and Keith Moore shared third spot, winning the category for handicaps 21 and over. Other prizes were won by Jim Garriock, Phil Hall, and best lady of the daym was Yvonne Geach.

l Last year’s seniors captain, Colin Henfrey returned the best score of last Thursday’s roll-up in the year-long trophy Order of Merit, The Super Seniors’ Stableford, with a very neat card of 39 points.

Runners-up Joe Green, Steve Squires and John-Ted Johnson all scored 37.

l The Seniors’ League team travelled to Kirton Holme, Boston, for their first match of the season, and met a strong side and, narrowly losing three of the pairings, they came away with a 4-2 loss.


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More