Home   Sport   Article

Subscribe Now

GOLF: Veteran Ron is oldest player to ace a hole at Sudbrook Moor

More news, no ads


Veteran golf ace Ron Selby.
Veteran golf ace Ron Selby.

Veteran Sudbrook Moor golfer Ron Selby has established a new record as the oldest player to record a hole-in-one on the Carlton Scroop-based course, blowing the previous record out of the water.

It was taken 86-year-old Ron 50 years to ace a hole and he achieved it whilst playing a game with friends Tony and David.

Ron selected his five-wood to play the second longest par three 16th hole and the trio watched with joy as the ball disappeared straight into the hole.

Ron grew up in the village of Stoke Rochford and remembers seeing golf played there back in the 1930s.

Following his retirement from his Grantham car sales and garage business in the 1990s, he took up active retirement in Carlton Scroop and joined Sudbrook Moor’s senior section.

His son Paul is alsoa serious golfer, and Ron has also introduced all his grandchildren to the sport at Sudbrook Moor too.



Belton Woods senior new member Ken Claxon led the way home to emerge victorious with 41 points in the February Monthly Stableford.

Two points adrift was runner-up Mike Learwood-Griffiths and Dave Toule was third with 33 points.

Others: 4 Pete Stephenson 31 ocb, 5 Deryck Washer 31, 7 John Bratt 30 ocb, 8 John Williams 30, 9 John MacGillivray 29 ocb, 10 Tom Rea 29.

In the Marshall’s Monthly Medal, John MacGillivray managed a narrow victory to win a closely-fought competition with a net 76.

He beat John Williams into second place by a single stroke, whilst Peter Stephenson was a further point adrift with 78.

Others: 4 Bob Clarke 79 ocb, 5 John Browne 79, 6 Mike Learwood-Griffiths 80, 7 Pat Stanford 82, 8 Deryck Washer 83 ocb, 9 Ken Claxon 83, 10 Ian Nisbet 84.



Played in drawn teams of three, Stoke Rochford seniors played a Yellow Ball competition as their Winter Warmer.

Conditions were difficult because of a strong blustery wind. The first hole was particularly tricky, with four teams failing to score a single point on that hole and six others recording only one point.

The conditions may have benefited the early starters as they dominated, with the first four teams starting at 8am taking the first four places.

Winners with 79 points were Alan Church, Mike Thornton and Eddie Malloy. Runners-up with 75 points were Trevor Harvey, John Martindale and Ernie Armstrong, whilst Dave Wilkins, Ray Beal and Wilf Stephenson were third with 73.

With two rounds remaining, Brian White leads with 47 points, from Phil White 45, Brian Ayto 39 and Alan Dolby 38.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More