Grantham Cricket Club celebrates outstanding season

Grantham Cricket Club awards night.
Grantham Cricket Club awards night.
Have your say

More than 80 members of Grantham Cricket Club attended the annual dinner and awards presentation night at Gorse Lane on Saturday

Guests of the club were South Lincs and Border League chairman David Morris, and Lincolnshire County Cricket Club chief executive Chris Farmer.

First team captain Gareth Bennett and second XI skipper Adrian Wing were delighted to receive trophies from the SLBL for the club winning the Premier and First Division last season.

Club members were pleased to honour head groundsman Mick Marsh, and Alan Lockwood, pavilion and bar manager, with club colours for their many years of dedicated service.

Batsman Stewart Mudie and bowler Simon Oakes were also awarded club colours in recognition of their outstanding contribution on the field over several years.

Awards: First team batting – Stewart Mudie, first team bowling – Simon Oakes, first team fielding – Joe Peck, first team players’ player – Neel Stevenson; second team batting – Danny Bates, second team bowling – Danny Ashley, second team fielding – Danny Bates, second team players’ player – Danny Ashley; third team batting – Phil Abbott, third team bowling – Alex Hackney, third team fielding – Ben Kennedy-Short, third team players’ player – Phil Abbott; Sunday 1st batting – Stewart Mudie, Sunday 1st bowling – Neel Stevenson, Sunday 1st fielding – Joe Peck, Sunday 1st players’ player – Stewart Mudie; Sunday 2nd batting – Max Everett, Sunday 2nd bowling – Rahul Kumar, Sunday 2nd fielding – Greg Mihill, Sunday 2nd players’ player – Fergus Myles; club colours awarded to Mick Marsh, Alan Lockwood, Stewart Mudie and Simon Oakes; chairman’s award for outstanding club contribution – Dave Langsford; clubman of the year – Maria Hackney; midweek team player of the year – Alex Kettle.

The photograph shows Grantham CC second XI captain Adrian Wing (right) collecting the trophy from David Morris for his side winning the SLBL First Division.