Home   Sport   Article

Good Grantham turnout at Notfast 10

Grantham Running Club at the Notfast 10K (3006722)
Grantham Running Club at the Notfast 10K (3006722)

The annual Notfast Open 10K took place at Newark on Sunday, attracting an impressive 29 runners from Grantham Running Club's green and black army out of the full 224 participants.

With the mercury hitting 25 degrees for the 10am start and the course offering very little shade, it was always going to be a tough event. A welcoming sight were the three water stations and the additional sponge station along the way to keep the runners hydrated.

Starting from Newark Rugby club, the runners turned right towards Kelham bridge. Having crossed the bridge, the next right turn started a loop towards south Muskham and on to the A616 up to the now notorious Debdale Hill. With the energy sapped out of them by the incline, runners then faced a very welcoming downhill section to complete the loop. Crossing back over Kelham Bridge, there was the mile long run in back to Newark Rugby Club and the short finishing straight to cross the line.

First male home for GRC in seventh position was the ever-consistent Joe Clarke in a time of 39min 34sec, followed by Matthew Atter in 10th place in 40:05, and Ben Hodgkin in 16th position with a time of 41:15.

First female was Holly Durham in 22nd position with a time of 43:04, followed by Caroline Davis in 89th with 53:00, and Nichola Webster (57:20) in 117th.

Special mention goes to Matthew Atter and Holly Durham for picking up second place prizes in the male V35+ and female V35+ categories respectively. Also, a very dominant performance in the team categories, with GRC taking first, second and fourth in the men’s event, and first and third in the women’s event.

Special thanks go to Notfast Running Club and all the volunteers for staging a great, friendly event, and to all the first aiders whose assistance was paramount in ensuring the health and safety of all the runners throughout the day.

Other results: Richard Payne (41:32), Matt Kidd (41:36), Joaquim Jeronimo (42:25), Nick Rossington (43:17), Russell Love (44:00), Stefan Latter (44:43), Ian McBain (44:45), Kevin Kettle (46:38), Stuart Reader (49:24), Stuart Baty (51:59), Thomas Napier (52:53), Julie Gilbert (58:38), Rosalind Sadler (58:39), Tracey Smith (1:02:22), Nicola Fahy (1:05:01), Samantha Clark (1:05:11), Joanne Cropper (1:07:58), Rachel Pattison (1:08:13), Lucinda Gamble (1:09:50), Margaretta Murray (1:12:49), Claire Fritz (1:13:40), Louise Kennedy (1:15:12), Chloe Amos (1:19:36).


Iliffe Media does not moderate comments. Please click here for our house rules.

People who post abusive comments about other users or those featured in articles will be banned.

Thank you. Your comment has been received and will appear on the site shortly.


Terms of Comments

We do not actively moderate, monitor or edit contributions to the reader comments but we may intervene and take such action as we think necessary, please click here for our house rules.

If you have any concerns over the contents on our site, please either register those concerns using the report abuse button, contact us here.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More