It was an up and down evening for the Wheelers

The latest local sports news.
The latest local sports news.
Have your say

Moving the club’s Hill Climb championship to a Tuesday evening paid of for Witham Wheelers as this year’s event enjoyed a much-improved entry of 24 riders competing.

The fastest rider was guest competitor Peter Cocker (PedalPushers) in a time of 2 mins 34 secs, just five seconds faster than Reece Egner, with younger brother Adam Egner the first junior a further 13 seconds back.

In the veterans section (over 40), Ian Galpin was quickest in 3 mins 24 secs, 11 seconds faster than Stephen Hobday.

Carol Milne was the quickest Lady in her first-ever hill climb, clocking 4 mins 19 secs.

Natalie Eastaugh was five seconds behind in second and Louise George was third in 4 mins 42 secs.

Isabel Hobday put in agreat ride to clock 4 mins 45 secs to be fourth lady and first juvenile.

Following the hill climb came the Freewheel Competition back down Harby Hill, and with the wind dropping there was the potential for big distances.

Around half of the riders were eliminated on the small rise about a quarter of a mile before Harby village.

The others, having crested the rise, picked up speed again and were passing the pub in the village before finally grinding to a halt as the road started to climb imperceptibly.

Heidi Moulds was the rider to go the furthest, but by no more than 10 metres.

Mick Egner and Peter Cocker were level in second and Adam Egner another 10m behind.

Next week sees the first of the evening social rides starting from the cricket club on Gorse Lane (6.45pm).

Hill Club results: 1 Peter Cocker 02:34, 2 Reece Egner 02:39, 3 Adam Egner 02:52, 4 Paul Cox 02:54, 5 Peter Watson 03:01, 6 Rick Manton 03:19, 7 Ian Galpin 03:24, 8 Stephen Hobday 03:35, 9 Paul Meredith 03:35, 10 Rick Yates 03:39, 11 John Pygott 03:42, 12 Simon Cocker 03:43, 13 Mick Egner 03:44, 14 James Westwood 03:47, 15 John Farmer 03:47, 16 Tony Hardenberg 04:10, 17 Carol Milne, 04:19, 18 Michael Smalley 04:24, 19 Natalie Eastaugh 04:24, 20 Louise George 04:42, 21 Isabel Hobday 04:45, 22 John Scott 05:13, 23 Vicky Saffaris 05:25, 24 Heidi Moulds 05:50.