Belton Park golfers round off season in style against Sleaford

Have your say

Belton Park

BELTON Park first team rounded off their season in style with a 4-2 victory over Sleaford. The team romped away with the South Lincolnshire Golf League, winning nine of the 10 fixtures played. They will now go forward to the Lincolnshire League finals.

The Elsham Foursomes team also had an excellent year and reached the finals weekend, played at Elsham Golf Club, on last Sunday. In the semi-final, they beat Blankney by eight holes but lost a nail-biting final by two holes against Woodhall Spa. It was a splendid effort by the team comprising Chris Brian Burns, Michael Jappy, Steve Mitchell, Matthew Haynes, Chris Haynes, Anthony Wagstaff, Dan Keddie and Leon Bell.

The second team also continued their excellent form with a 3½-2½ win away at Greetham Valley. The victory means that if they win their two remaining games, they will also be crowned league champions, for the third year in succession.

The Victory Cup, a Greensome Stableford was played on Sunday. The winners, on 43 points, were Ian Firth and Janice Johnson, one point clear of John and Shelley McClelland.

Seniors’ section

Sixteen pairs entered the Alec Hay Trophy greensome pairs stableford on Tuesday.

Winners with a score of 44 were Shaun Boney and Dave Martin. Runners-up with 41 were Fred Williams and Les Elliott, with Norman Halliday and Terry Bond (39) third on countback.

Belton Park 2

Burghley Park 6

Shaun Boney and Wes Wright lost 5&4, Peter Brooks and John Thompson lost 2&1, Manny Barker and Mike Goodacre won 4&2, Tony Davies and Ian Saunders halved, Alan Addis and John Alsbury lost 5&3, Brian Mole and Tony Robinson halved, Peter Rollins and John Carr lost 3&2, Mike Robinson and Bill Brogan lost 4&3.

Sudbrook Moor

INTEREST is high in the ongoing Summer Eclectic Medals. The ladies’ Tuesday roll-up is led by Amanda Roberts, well ahead of Jan Machin in second.

The seniors’ Thursday Eclectic is tightly packed at the top with birdie golf dividing the top four over a two-shot span. Pete Armstrong is one shot ahead of Dave Guy, followed by Pete Farmer and David Leslie.

In the Main Club qualifiers, A Team captain Phil Hall is well clear, intent on regaining the title from Doug Nelson. Chris Winfield and Pete Armstong are tied for second place.

In the monthly Main Club Order of Merit, Martin Corby’s best six scores have him on 102 points, ahead of Kev Jones and Chris Winfield. August winner Rob Jameson is fourth, from Michael Coupland and Jeff Ward.