GOLF: Belton Park battle for bottles

Have your say

Belton Park’s annual Colin Elstone Christmas charity competition took place on Saturday.

In an Am-Am format, 32 teams of four players battled for the bottle prizes. Everyone competing was a winner, in that the weather, although cold, could not have been more favourable. But fine weather resulted in some good scores.

Results: 1 Nigel Gibson, John Henson, Keith Oswin and Andy McGowan 85 points, 2 Tony Gleave, Brian Cherril, Colin Walton and Jim Sneddon 84, 3 Spike Carr, Trevor Ireland, Tony Davies and Tony Nickson 83, 4 James Philpotts, Mick Brailsford, Steve Railton and Simon Stuart 81.

At the presentation ceremony, new club captain Steve Glenn and ladies’ captain Diane Dixon presented cheques, each for £1,000, to representatives of the Alzeimers Society and the EAU of Grantham Hospital.

Seniors’ section

There were 27 entries for the latest Tuesday Stableford which was won by Barry Stainton with a score of 41. One adrift was Laurence Haselhurst, with Tony Noble third with 38 on countback from Ray Shore. Manny Barker won the back nine with 18 on countback, and Fred Williams (19) triumphed on the front nine.


Seniors’ section

Outgoing seniors captain Ian Nisbet held his presentation lunch and then handed over the reins to Alan Lowen for the 2013 season.

Alan continued his good fortune by winning the George Franklin Cup, the Secretary’s Salver, the 19+ Handicap Cup, the Peter Driver Memorial Trophy, and the Summer Eclectic.

The 50+ Matchplay Trophy was collected by John Sabin, who also claimed the Peter Prior Pairs Cup with Tom Rea. John Billot won the Memorial Trophy and also the Peter Driver Matchplay Trophy.

John Williams triumphed in the Plate Matchplay competition, and David Toule won both the Winter Frostbite and the Jeff Benton Cup. Pat Stanford was successful in both the Scratch Plate 18-and-under Handicap and the Under-18 Handicap Trophy.

Peter Bishop triumphed in the 19+ Handicap Scratch Plate competition. The Hamilton-Smith Trophy was picked up by Les Vine, and the Captain’s Cup by Mike Gulliford. Mike North was awarded the Captain’s Dedication Trophy for 2013.


Seniors’ section

Three pairs finished with 32 points in last week’s winter warmer which was a “save it or dump it” with four groups of three holes to count.

Winners on countback were Ernie Armstrong and Gareth Hughes, from second placed Dave Hudson and David Hamilton, with Duncan Bennett and Ian Dobson in third.

Overall lead after five rounds is shared by Brian Ayto, Ernie Armstrong and Brian White, all with 15 points. Phil Varley has 14 and Keith Dugmore 13.


The Tuesday ladies’ limited club Festive Stableford was won by Shirley Gardiner with 41 points. On 32 points was Amanda Roberts, from Di Smith on 30 and Thea Law on 29. The event raised £36 for Marie Curie Cancer Care.

l Giving strokes away to Dave Leslie, Dave Guy triumphed in the final of the seniors’ annual Matchplay Championship to claim the Boxell Trophy.

In a consolation format, the losers of each round met to compete for an alternative final in which Maurice Green beat John Johnson.

In a superb season, Dave Guy also became Senior Golfer of the Year for amassing the most Order of Merit points.