GOLF: Belton Park open raises cash for RAFA appeal

Have your say


Belton Park’s Battle of Britain Open raised £500 for the RAF Wings Appeal.

Played in the morning, the Battle of Britain Trophy betterball bogey competition was won by S. Brook and R. Warford with a score of +8. Runners-up were C. Partrick and G. Titterton and P. Evans and A. Frisby were third.

The afternoon Gillam Trophy betterball stableford saw J. Chambers and I. Baker triumph with 42 points. Second were S. Harlow and E. Maxwell, with S. Chester and D. Higgs finishing third.

Following play, Belton Park captain Steve Glenn presented a cheque to the appeal on behalf of the club (see photo).

l The John Peberdy Cup was won by the foursome of S. Sechi, E. Burns, J. Diment and H. Glenn with a score of 91 points.

Runners-up on 87 points were P. Green, M. Green, T. Padavano and C. Borwell, with D. Capindale, S. Wragg, D. Nock and C. Walton two points adrift in third.



Despite a fightback by the middle order, Stoke Rochford suffered their second losing double of the season at Greetham Valley.


Greetham Valley 5

Stoke Rochford 3

Mick Rance and Mike Dickinson lost 1 down, Charles Scott and Ray Elsome lost 2 down, John Wright and Phil Hewes lost 3&2, Keith Dugmore and David Hamilton won 1 up, Graham Manton and Ray Beal won 3&2, Jim Price and John Batty lost 6&5, Duncan Bennett and Dave Hudson won 4&3, Tim Haward and Keith Eddy lost 5&3.

Leicestershire 5

Stoke Rochford 3

Mick Rance & Keith Eddy lost 8&7, John Wright and Mike Graves lost 2 down, Mike Dickinson and Graham Manton lost 2&1, Brian White and Eddie Plant won 3&2, Greg Ewart and Roger Smith won 2 up, Chris Woof and Ray Smith won 3&1, Brian Ayto and Ernie Armstrong lost 2&1, Ray Elsome and Alan Jessop lost 1 down.



Continuing his rich vein of form, M. Whitington won the Marshalls’ Monthly Medal and first round of the Memorial Cup on an extremely close countback from new member Denny Pang.

Results: 1 M. Whitington net 70 ocb, 2 Denny Pang 70, 3 Terry Measures 71 ocb, 4 Dave Inglis 71, 5 Les Vine 72, 6 Jim Browne 73 ocb, 7 Gordon Scott 73 ocb, 8 Len Astill ocb, 9 Colin Thornton 74 ocb, 10 Alan Lowen 74.

Denny emerged victorious in the Monthly Stableford, winning by three points.

1 Denny Pang 41, 2 Colin Thornton 38, 3 Mike Whitington 37 ocb, 4 Ray Woodcock 37, 5 Colin Grant 36, 6 Henry Knight 35, 7 Eric Bailey 34, 8 John Billot 33 ocb, 9 Doug Blackburne 33 ocb, 10 Colin Musson 33.

Belton Woods 7½

Radcliffe ½

Alan Lowen and Mike Whitington won 6&5, Colin Thornton and Denny Pang won 6&5, Phil Turrell and Mick Hall won 6&5, John Billot and Bob Clarke won 3&2, Peter Bishop and Pat Stanford won 6&5, John Sabin and Les Vine halved, Colin Musson and Roland Shepperson won 2 up, Ian Nisbet and Gordon Scott won 1 up.


Best overall in the monthly midweek stableford with 43 points was Phil Hall who played five shots under his nine handicap.

Runner-up with 41 points was Keith Maclachlan on a back nine countback from Neil Baker. Ian Reah, Kev Jones, Graham Ritchie and Dave Guy all returned 36 points.

Best of Category 4 was Pete Burkhill with 33 points on countback from Keith Tomlinson. Jo Pearson won the ladies’ stableford from Pam Cox with a return of 38 points.

John Came netted the entire twos pot when he swept the board with a hole-in-one on the third.

l Ian Reah came out top in the Sunday stableford roll-up with 41 points. Michael Coupland carded 40 points, Jim Garriock 39, and best of Category 4 were Paul Brough and Andy Newman on 36.

Jo Pearson’s 35 points won the ladies’ and the twos pot was shared between Dave Guy, Graham Ritchie, Andy Stones and Andy Newman.