GOLF: Belton Park’s Colin Elstone Christmas competition raises more than £2k for charity

Belton Park lady captain Marjie Thompson (centre) presents the winners' prizes to, from left - Jean Sutcliffe, Sue Mitchell, Kathleen Bell and Shelley McClelland.
Belton Park lady captain Marjie Thompson (centre) presents the winners' prizes to, from left - Jean Sutcliffe, Sue Mitchell, Kathleen Bell and Shelley McClelland.
Have your say


Belton Park held its Christmas charity competition last Saturday, named in memory of Colin Elstone who was the originator of the event.

A field of 32 teams, each consisting of four players played on a very well presented course which had been tidied up after the storms two days previously. The format was a stableford competition with two scores counting on each hole. The high scoring reflected the standard of the course and also the players themselves.

Nearest the pin on the fourth hole was Michael (Spike) Carr, and on the 17th it was Dick Neal. Winner of the raffle was Michael Sims who received a golf bag.

Results: 1 Mark Franklin, Tim Shaw, Tony Davies and Nigel Strutt 85pt, 2 Mark Sutton, Paul Thompson, Dean Griffiths and Roger Davis 84, 3 Nigel Harris, Chris Holmes, Peter Corcoran and Tony Nickson 84 points

The equivalent ladies’ competition attracted a field of 56 on Sunday.

Club captain Rob Bartlett awarded a special prize to the team with the best score on the par threes which was was won by Janni Pask. Irene Cogger, Margaret Henson and Cynthia Mills with 30 points.

Results: 1 Shelley McClelland, Sue Mitchell, Kathleen Bell and Jean Sutcliffe 79, 2 Joy Stepney, Carol Taylor, Diane Dixon and Paula Marshall 78 ocb, 3 Carol Steele, Nicola Routledge, Pat Evans and Becky Lloyd.

At the presentation of prizes, the two new captains, Rob Bartlett and Marjorie Thompson, presented a cheque for £2,047 to Kate Hughes of the Breast Care Trust Fund.

Rob Bartlett presented a vintage bottle of port to Trevor Ireland and Alec King, the organisers of this competition, in recognition of their work over the past 25 years. During those 25 years, more than £30,000 has been raised for local charities. Trevor and Alec are standing down and handing over the reins to John Kirkup.


Belton Park seniors’ final stableford of the year was won by John Clarke with 41 points.

Peter Hawkins was one point adrift and Trevor Collis was third with 38. The front nine was won by Peter Brooks with 21 and Michael Robinson had the best back nine with 20.



A farewell dinner was held by Belton Woods seniors in the hotel’s Hawthorn Suite to mark the end of Alan Lowen’s tenure as captain.

During the course of the evening, Alan presented a cheque for £1,925 to LIVES (Lincolnshire Integrated Voluntary Emergency Services) representative Steve Hyde.

Star performers of the evening were the Belton Belles Choir conducted by John Williams and consisting of the wives and partners of Belton Woods seniors together with lady golfers.

Prior to handing over the seniors captaincy to George Forbes, Alan presented trophies to the successful golfers of the year.

Mike Whitington took home four trophies in all – The Memorial Trophy, George Franklin Cup, Secretary’s Salver and the Scratch Plate for 19+ Handicap.

Pat Stanford won the Matchplay, Tom Lambert Trophy and the Peter Driver Memorial Trophy .

Colin Musson claimed the Summer Eclectic and the 19+ Handicap Cup, while Peter Bishop won the Singles Plate, Colin Thornton the Peter Driver Trophy, and Bob Clarke the Hamilton Smith Trophy.

The Captain’s Cup Bob Blake and the Peter Prior pairs competition was won by Ian Nisbett and David Toule. The Jeff Benton Cup was won by P. K. Pang and the 18 and under Handicap Trophy was claimed by Tin Win.

Terry Seddon triumphed in The Dedication Trophy while the Winter Frostbite John Williams and Scratch Plate for 18 and under Handicap was won by Tony Turner.



The latest round of Stoke Rochford seniors’ Winter Warmers was a Texas Scramble.

Winners were Mike Dickinson, Phil White and John Helstrip with 64 (net 58.3), including six birdies and no bogeys.

Runners-up were Mike Nixon, Eddie Plant and Malcolm Edwards with 66 (60.2) and third were the two-ball Mike Palmer and Brian Ayto with 67 (61.8).

With seven rounds completed, 79 seniors have participated in total and Greg Ewart retains the overall lead with 26 points, from Brian Ayto and Phil White, both of whom are on 23.


The annual Christmas Trophy stableford, played with two clubs and a putter, was won by senior Bryan Greenslade.

Playing off 17 handicap, Bryan carded 37 points with a 20 point front nine and 17 for the back. Runner-up Barry Kay carded 36 and won Category 4 with his 28 handicap.

Best of the rest with 33 was Dennis Green. John Johnson and Pete Farmer finished on 32 points in Categories 1-3, with Martin Whistler and David Porter on 31 in Category 4.

There were birdie twos for Dave Guy, John Johnson, Steve Squiries, Graham Mackinder, Tony Rose, Colin Henfrey and John Ronan.