GOLF: Belton Park triumph in Elsham Foursomes for first time

Belton Park's Elsham Foursomes winners, from left - Chris Burns, Steve Mitchell, Chris Haynes, non-playing captain Nigel Harris, gents' captain Rob Bartlett, Leon Bell, Will Walker and Matt Haynes.
Belton Park's Elsham Foursomes winners, from left - Chris Burns, Steve Mitchell, Chris Haynes, non-playing captain Nigel Harris, gents' captain Rob Bartlett, Leon Bell, Will Walker and Matt Haynes.
Share this article
Have your say

The 50th playing of the Elsham County Foursomes saw the team from Belton Park emerge victorious for the very first time.

In the morning semi finals, Belton were paired against Carholme and in the aggregate scoring system the results were: Chris Burns and Chris Haynes 1 up, Matt Haynes and Will Walker 4 up, Leon Bell and Steve Mitchell 3 down.

A very tense afternoon final against Kenwick Park saw both teams with periods of play that saw them take the lead, only for the opposition to come back at them.

In a very tight first match where there was never more than a couple of holes either way, the pairing of Chris Burns and Chris Haynes lipped out for their birdie on the last to give their opponents a putt from six foot for a birdie to gain a 1 up win. The chance was taken.

The second pairing of Will Walker and Matt Haynes played some excellent golf to gain a stranglehold on their game which they never released. Despite losing the last to a birdie, they secured a valuable 3 up victory.

The results meant the final pairing of Steve Mitchell and Leon Bell could afford to lose their match no worse than 1 down. In a very tense 10 minutes, the pair eventually won the hole to secure an all square result and spark great celebrations amongst all the team and the many Belton supporters who had followed the team to Elsham.

Belton were not only presented with the Elsham Shield but were also extremely grateful to John Halmshaw (past president of the LUGC and founder of the event) who personally presented a special trophy to the winners on the 50th anniversary of the event.

l Belton Park’s first team drew 3-3 at Spalding to keep their chances of winning the league alive. A home win against Blankney next Saturday will retain the title.

l Belton Park’s second string also took another big step towards retaining the league title with a pulsating win over champion contenders Blankney.

After nine holes- there was nothing to choose between the two sides but once again Belton came through strongly to win the match 4.5-1.5.


Victory Cup Mixed Greensomes – 1 Derek and Yvonne Bashford 38pt, 2 Andy and Sue Hodgson 38, 3 Dave Carter and Lucie Morley 38.


August Medal: Div 1 – 1 Yvonne Bashford 90-20=70, 2 Jane Renfrew 90-17=73, 3 Shelley McClelland 91-16=75; Div 2 – 1 Denise Adam 104-34=70, 2 Jean Sutcliffe 104-34=70, 3 Sally Knight 105-31=74.

Toft 2

Belton Park 2

Joy Stepney and Sue Walker-Sherriff won 5&4, Annette Fordham and Anthea Nicoll won 5&4, Marjie Thompson and Sue Addis lost 3&1, Issie Guest and Ina Wood lost 4&3.


Stableford – 1 Peter Hawkins 39, 2 Garry Head 37 ocb, 3 Keith Brown 37, 4 Malc Sutton 35; front nine - John Clarks 20, back nine - Alan Addis 20.

C Team

Rutland County 2

Belton Park 4

Belton Park names first – Tony Davies and Stewart Boylan beat Roger Overton and Phil Drury 2 up, John Cooke and Tony Nickson beat David Whitehead and Geoff Osborne 4&2, Garry Taylor and Bob Rogers beat Bob Ambrose and Reg Parker 5&4, David Capindale and Simon Denton beat Gerry McIntyre and Packa Risi 2&1, Dave Wing and Ben Bayliss lost to Dave Rippin and Graham Cole 3&1, Ian Carroll and Roy Allan lost to Paul Milsom and Barry Cheshire 2&1.

Nottinghamshire 3½

Belton Park 2½

Belton Park names first, Open course – Tony Davies and Dick Short beat Dick Poole and Joe Stevens 2 up, Steve Mitchell and Ben Bayliss beat Adrian Whalley and Dave Simpson 3&2, Andy Stepney and Keith Smith lost to Simon Houghton and Paul Cookson 1 down; Masters course – Ian Carroll and Roy Allan lost to Andrew Harvey and Jack Tagg 5&4, Laurence Haselhurst and John Jalland lost to Brian Williamson and Martin Morris 8&6, Colin Walton and Ivor Samways halved with Roy Allum and Simon Baird.


Belton Woods held its club championships recently and was contested over 36 holes played on Saturday and Sunday, with the first round played on the Woodside Course and the second on the Lakes.

The club champion was the player with the lowest gross score over the two days, and there was also a concurrent second competition for the lowest net score over the two days. More than 70 members entered the competition.

Winner and new club champion was Dan Fowler with an aggregate score for the two rounds of 154. Runner-up was Joshua Stevens and Ben Campbell was third.

Jon Todd was winner of the net score competition with an aggregate of 142, ahead of J. P. Bowers and third placed Joshua Stevens.



Stoke Rochford seniors played the fifth of their six round Trophy competition and winner with 42 points was Brian Nightingale.

Runner-up was Les Cooper with 38 points and Don Werner (37) was third.

With the best three scores to count from the six rounds, the overall lead remains with Alan Dolby on 109 points, from Brian Keightley (108) and Charles Donnison (107).

Scraptoft 4

Stoke Rochford 4

Barry Coop and Graham Manton lost 7&6, Phil White and Ray Elsome lost 3&2, Charles Scott and Don Clements halved, Mike Dickinson and David Hamilton won 1 up, Tim Haward and Eddie Malloy lost 6&5, Stephen Major and Philip Varley halved, Mike Nixon and Roger Smith won 3&2,

Ken Taylor and Eddie Plant won 6&4.


Sudbrook Moor seniors’ Olympic Trophy stableford roll-up was contested by 45 players.

CSS was two under SSS (40 points) with winner Dennis Green’s four under CSS cutting his handicap to 25.1.

The prize money was shared by Dennis, David Porter, John Johnson, Philip Garfoot, Tony Rose and Harry Peel. Dave Guy and Harry shared the two sweep.

l Seniors captain Colin Henfrey won the seniors’ early August Super Stableford with 42 points, ahead of Frank Brumpton (41), Tony Rose (40), Francis Haw (40) and Harry Cutmore (39).

l Norma Shelley returned a solid 38 points in the Tuesday ladies’ roll-up, from Jenny Hilton who was runner-up with 37 on countback from Joan Doughty.

l Conor O’Leary and Joseph Ablewhite represented the junior section at Sleaford Golf Club where they gained experience in the Junior Daily Telegraph Open.