GOLF: Belton Woods lady captain Daykin has her day

Share this article
Have your say


Belton Woods lady captain Gaynor Daykin held her Charity Day last Saturday, when more than 60 players took part in the fourball betterball charity competition.

Belton Woods lady captain's Charity Day

Belton Woods lady captain's Charity Day

Winners on the day were club captain Ian Williams and wife Val Williams, Colin Sneesby and Fiona Illingworth with a fantastic score of 106 points.

Gaynor’s chosen charity for 2014 is Hayward House Hospice of City Hospital, Nottingham, who was represented at the prizegiving presentation by Alison Bateman.

The day raised a staggering £3,000 and Gaynor thanked all the volunteers from the golf club for their donations of food and drink, to the businesses and individuals who donated prizes and auction items, and to all who helped and took part on the day.

Pictured from left are Val Williams, Ian Williams, lady captain Gaynor Daykin, Colin Sneesby and Fiona Illingworth.


The men’s Stableford competition was held on the Lakes Course on Sunday with full handicap allowance.

Division One winner for players with handicaps of 12 and below was Nicholas Dent with 39 points.

Round of the day was that of Michael Allison who won Division Two, for handicaps of 13 and above, with 45 points. His outstanding round resulted in a three shot handicap reduction.

Michael’s nearest rival in the division scored 34 points.


Belton Woods seniors’ captain George Forbes won the Marshall’s Medal competition for June with net 73, one stroke ahead of Colin Thornton who was secon with 74 on countback.

Others: 3 Denny Pang 74, 4 Pat Stanford 76 ocb, 5 Pete Stephenson 76 ocb, 6 Alan Lowen 76 ocb, 7 David Toule 76, 8 Tony Slipper 78, 9 Richard James 79 ocb, 10 Henry Knight 79.

Belton Woods 4½

Norwood Park 3½

George Forbes and John Bratt lost 1 down, Dave Toule and Henry Knight won 3&2, Mike Whitington and John Williams lost 7&5, Paul Stanley and Pat Stanford won 6&4, Richard James and John Browne won 4&3, Colin Thornton and Bob Blake won 7&5, Phil Turrell and Roger Hanratty halved, Ian Nisbett and Ed Kitching lost 3&2.


A Belton Park husband and wife pair won the Flowers open for an incredible third year running on Sunday.

Mixed pairs from all over the region took part in the open competition sponsored by Shah Furniture and Interiors.

The day saw some incredible scoring from many of the pairs, all of whom took advantage of the perfect playing conditions and the course that had been beautifully prepared by the green staff.

But for an unprecedented third year running, Chris and Edina Burns topped the scoring charts with a fantastic 46 stableford points.

Results: 1 Chris and Edina Burns 46, 2 Tom and Carol Doyle 44, 3 Richard and Christine Reynolds 44, 4 Steve Hodgson and Maureen Marshall 42, 5 Mike and Janet Goodall 40.


Belton Park’s second team, playing their first home league match, saw off a strong Spalding team to get their first win of the season; a win that puts them very much back in the title race.

However, things were not looking too good after nine holes when the visitors were ahead in five out of six games. Once again, a strong finish saw Belton Park triumph eventually.

Belton Park 4

Spalding 2

Terry Guest and Ed Glenn won 1 up, Tony Gleave and Nigel Gibson won 7&5, Chris Mottershead and Bob Chapple lost, Kev Sheppard and David Midgley lost, James Marshall and Mike Hallam won, Sam and Mark Sutton won.


Belton Park visited a Torksey seniors side that had not lost a match this season last Wednesday, and they soon found out just why that was.

Torksey 7

Belton Park 1

Bill Brogan and Keith Ball lost 3&2, Trevor Collis and Dave Dobney lost 4&3, Manny Barker and Phil Shaw won 4&3, Dave Martin and Bill Hislop lost 2&1, Fred Williams and Nick Craft lost 2&1, Alan Addis and Peter Brooks lost 2&1, Ron Prothero and Willy Badraun lost 4&2, Colin Farrington and Brian Mole lost 5&4.

l Belton Park seniors played in the annual Tony Barron Trophy last Tuesday.

The competition was between those with a Lincolnshire connection (the Yellow Bellies) and the rest. A stableford competition was run to provide the points score for the two teams. Yellow Bellies beat the Rest by 442 points to 424.

Stapleford competition: 1 Trevor Collis 44, 2 Bill Brogan 37, 3 Mike Robinson 34, 4 Willy Badraum 34; front nine – Howard Lockwood, back nine – Peter Hawkins 19.


Middleman’s Cup: 1 Richard Downs 82-12=70, 2 Roy Allen 82-12=70, 3 Dave Reddish 86-16=70

The Middleman’s driver awarded for the lowest gross was also won by Richard Downs.


The ladies’ section was split into three categories by handicap to compete amongst their peers last Tuesday.

The Lady Captain’s Salver was won by Jan Johnson (86-18=68). Runner up was Anna Clark (81-9=72) and Sheila Mason (91-19=72) was third.

The Lady Secretary’s Cup was won by Irene Gogger with 94-23=71, ahead of Anita Bartys (94-21=73). Third was Kathleen Bell with 97-23=74.

The Long Handicap Cup was won by Denise Adams (107-34=73), with Sue Addis runner-up with 103-30=73. Sue Hall (106-29=77) was third.

l Belton Park ladies were defeated 3-1 in a league match at Burghley Park last Thursday. Sheila Mason and Sue Walker-Sherriff came away with a win.

The ladies’ team had the same result (3-1) when they played away against Belton Woods in another league match on Saturday. This time it was Edina Burns and Anna Clark recording the only win for Belton Park.



After losing 5-3 in the away game of the annual two-leg challenge for the ‘52 Match Plate’, Stoke Rochford needed to win 5½ games from the home match to regain the trophy from the holders Oundle.

Having won five of the first six games Stoke needed a half from the last two on the course and the pairing of Mick Rance and Tim Haward came up trumps. In halving the last two holes, they halved their match to reach the required total to win the Plate for Stoke by an aggregate 8½-7½

Stoke Rochford 5½

Oundle 2½

Barry Coop and Nev Marris won 3&2, Mike Nixon and Greg Ewart won 2&1, Graham Manton and Don Werner won 4&3, David Hamilton and Mike Graves lost 7&5, Stephen Major and Keith Dugmore won 7&6, Mick Rance and Tim Haward halved, John Wright and Philip Varley won 4&3, John Batty and Keith Eddy lost 4&3.

l Brian Keightley scored 38 points to win the third round of the Seniors Trophy, one point ahead of Trevor Harvey and John Helstrip.

The aggregate of the best three from six monthly rounds count and after three, 66 seniors have played in at least one, Brian Keightley and Ron Kent head the table with 106 points, with Phil Hewes hot on their tails with 104.


Sudbrook Moor’s A Team not only recorded an astounding 6-0 victory at home to South Kyme, but also nudged their opponents into second as they took over top spot in the league.

Captain Bruce Macfarlane’s team has now notched up three excellent wins, with just one loss

l The Club Gold medals were contested in the June Medal competition.

John Machin won the gents’, Yvonne Geach the ladies’ and Jack Williams the juniors’.

The EGU Gold Medal for the best score of all the field was won by Jim Gorski. His score will be submitted to the National Gold Medal Order of Merit for all winners at club level.

In the Medal itself, other prizes went to Sue Watson in the ladies’, and in the gents’ – Graham Ritchie (best gross), Bruce Macfarlane, John Chatburn, Paul McCarthy, Trevor Whatton and Colin Henfrey.