GOLF: Father and son win Sudbrook Bowl

Have your say

Sudbrook Moor

FATHER and son pair Stuart and Joshua Smith won the Sudbrook Bowl fourball betterball stableford trophy with a convincing 42 points.

A balanced front and back nine of 21 points far outshone the rest of the field, nearly all of whom fell apart on the back nine after the wind got up.

Sixteen-year-old Joshua plays off six handicap and Stuart 15 and previously won the trophy in 2009.

Runners-up were husband and wife Bob and Sue Watson whose 38 points with a back nine of 19 took second prize from best friends Jim Garrick and Ian Mason who had a back nine of 18 points.

l Sudbrook seniors played Kirton Holme at home in their penultimate league match which they halved 3-3, adding one point to their Order of Merit.

l The scratch A Team set their stall out to win their last fixture at home against South Kyme to add two points to their Order of Merit.

With a final total of 12 points, just one behind league winners Tydd St Giles, the Sudbrook boys missed out on promotion to Division Two of the South Lincolnshire League by one defeat.

l The ladies’ Three Strand League travelled to Rutland County enjoy an end of season social day with fellow league teams Pottergate and South Kyme.

In a three strand stableford format, Sudbrook Moor brought home first prize through Maureen Bradford. There was a second prize for Lorna Nichols and third for Fiona Hutton and Judith Hutton.

Belton Woods

Seniors’ section

PLAYING off 12,. Phil Stannard emerged as overall winner of the Scratch Competition and also picked up the ‘18 and under’ trophy with a gross 84.

Winning the ‘19+’ trophy, 20-handicap Mike Whitington was second overall with a gross 85.

Second and third respectively in the ‘18 and under’ were Bob Blake (85) and John Billot (85). Second and third in the ‘19+’ were Tom Rea (91) and Ray Woodcock (93).

Belton Woods 6½

Notts Golf and CC 1½

Ian Nisbet and Eric Bailey lost 2-0, Ed Kitching and Peter Bishop halved, Mike Whitington and John Bratt won 3-2, Les Vine and Mike Gulliford won 2-1, Steve Hudson and Ray Woodcock won 3-2, Phil Turrell and Alan Lowen won 1 up, Colin Thornton and Mike North won 3-2, John Sabin and Tony Turner won 2-1.

Belton Park

C Team

Radcliffe 3½

Belton Park 2½

Belton Park names first – Tony Davies and David Nock halved with Barry Gamble and David Styles, Simon Whitton and Paul Woods beat Bill Spencer and Ian Terry 4&2, Ross Denton and Simon Denton beat Adam Snodgrass and Fred Sheperton 4&3, Jim Wiggins and Keith Smith lost to Neil Henfrey and Steve Bird 4&3, Steve Rowley and Chris Mousley lost to Martin Brewster and Clive Sture 1 down, Colin Walton and Richard Claxton lost to Geoff Dexter and Steve Fagg 2 down.

Seniors’ section

Winner of the Colin Ryan Cup medal competition was R. Prothero with a score of 69 on countback from K. Brown.

In third with 71 was L. Elliott and Mike Monaghan was fourth with 73 on countback from W. Wright.

Belton Park 5

Luffenham 3

M. Goodacre and R. Duggan won 2&1, S. Boney and I. Saunders won 1 up, P. Brooks and B. Stainton lost 3&2, L. Haselhurst and J. Carr won 6&5, K. Ball and B. Mole halved, T. Barron and J. Walker-Sheriff won 6&5, P. Lloyd and D. Green lost 2&1, F. Williams and N. Craft halved.

Ladies’ section

The Warrender Cup, an 18-hole par competition, was closely contested on Tuesday with the top three places being decided on countback. Cathryn Morris was first, Pam Wiggins second and Helen Elliott third, all three with a tremendous +6 score.

l The Ladies’ Summer Knockout competiton was won by Margaret Barrett who has produced some excellent golf this year and has been steadily reducing her handicap throughout the season.

Margaret clinched the title by narrowly beating Annette Fordham by one hole to become this year’s winner in a contest that is played over a number of rounds through the summer months.

l The Mary Smallwood Plate is a competiton for players knocked out in the first round of the Summer Knockout competition. This year, the plate was won by Norma Howitt who beat Gill Mahoney in the final round.

l The Gilliat Bowl, one of the last competitons of the year, produced some very high scores from the majority of players on Sunday. This pushed the course scratch up to 75.

However, Julie Hamer bucked the trend, scoring a net 70 and reducing her handicap by two shots, to take first place. Second was Wendy Wright with a net 72, and Ina Wood was third with a net 75.

Stoke Rochford

C Team

St Neots 2½

Stoke Rochford 3½

Martin Bellamy and Gary Skerritt lost 4&2, Andy Edwards and Trevor Harvey halved, Bert Tregidgo and Ian Dobson lost 2&1, Stan Clough and Eddie Malloy won 5&3, Andrew Ward and Barry Coop won 1 up, Lee MacDonald and Bob Bennett won 2&1.

Seniors’ section

Stoke Rochford completed a rare home and away double against Greetham Valley.

Greetham Valley 3

Stoke Rochford 5

Don Werner and Malcolm Edwards won 4&2, Mike Dickinson and Ray Elsome lost 2&1, Brian Ayto and Keith Eddy lost 2&1, Mike Rance and Fred Bellingall won 2&1, Greg Ewart and Mike Graves won 3&1, Les Cooper and Duncan Bennett won 5&3, Barrie Griffin and Dave Hudson lost 5&3, Ray Beal and Jim Price won 1 up.

Other results:

Stoke Rochford Seniors Invitation – 1 Gary Skerritt and guest Barry Caunt (Melton Mowbray) 49pt, 2 Keith Dugmore and Jim McIlroy (St Neots) 47, 3 John Whalley and George Cliff (Rushcliffe) 46, 4 Graham Tebbitt and Terry Brutnell (Glen Gorse) 45, 5 seniors captain Don Werner and Ron Foulger (Louth) 44, 6 Ray Beal and Malcolm McGregor (Belton Park) 44; nearest the pin on the 3rd – Malcolm Edwards, nearest the pin in two on the 11th – Keith Dugmore.

Terry Braime Salver

Stoke Rochford Seniors 2

Stoke Rochford Juniors 4

Seniors names first – Don Werner and Cliff Mills beat Tom Greenfield and Matt Allen 5&3, Alan Jessop and David Hamilton lost to Rory Croft and Joe Leftly 3&2, Ernie Armstrong and Dave Hamston lost to Alex Shelton and Peter Claxton 6&5, Wilf Stephenson and Roger Nicholls lost to Will Harris and Harvey Braime 4&2, Keith Eddy and Clive Watson beat Jack Greenfield and Stacie Eldred 4&3, Malcolm Rose and Ian Smith lost to Edward Bell and Max Braime 3&2.