GOLF: Helstrip bags Stoke Rochford seniors’ bowl

Have your say



Stoke Rochford’s seniors competed for the Bagshaw Bowl in an individual stableford competition.

This year’s winner with a score of 41 points was John Helstrip, second on countback with 39 was Phil Hewes with Mike Nixon third.

Duncan Bagshaw presented the winner’s trophy, in memory of his late father Dick, a former Stoke senior. The event raised £515, making a total of £4,175 donated to the Prostate Cancer charity over the past seven years.

l Taking a two game advantage into the second leg of the two match challenge for the “52 Match Plate” was not enough for Stoke to hold on to the trophy which they won the past three years. Home advantage and local knowledge resulted in a comfortable win for Oundle to win the Plate on aggregate 9½-6½ .

Oundle 6½

Stoke Rochford 1½

Mick Rance and Ray Smith lost 2&1, Barry Coop and Keith Dugmore lost 2&1, Graham Manton and Keith Eddy won 1 up, Ray Elsome and Roy Rowe halved, Ken Taylor and Ernie Armstrong lost 4&3, Chris Woof and Eddie Plant lost 4&2, Ian Smith and Don Werner lost 5&3, Jim Price and David Hamilton lost 3&2


Scraptoft 4

Stoke Rochford 4

David and Carol Hamilton halved, Gary Skerritt and Roni Proctor lost 1 down, Roger Smith and Joan Lennard won 2&1, John and Carol Whalley won 5&3, Ken and Sue Taylor halved, Philip and Norma Varley lost 6&4, Alan Hayward and Jill Little won 1 up, Joe and Kath Lindley lost 3&2.



In South Lincs League matches, Belton Park’s first team won 4-2 at Toft and the second string triumphed 5-1 at home to Burghley Park.


Sponsored by Shah Furniture and Interiors of Lincoln, the Flowers Mixed Open was won by Chris and Edina Burns with 43 points. Runners-up on 41 were Mike and Belinda Briggs.

C Team

Belton Woods 6

Belton Park 0

Belton Park names first – Tony Davies and David Nock lost to Ian Williams and Colin Sneesby 3&2, John Taylor and Andy Trotter lost to Malcolm Hensby and Harry McKeen 6&5, Keith Smith and Laurence Haselhurst lost to Bruce Foster and Andrew Cameron 1 down, Ben Bayliss and David Capindale lost to Les Stewart and Terry Fox 6&4, Ian Carroll and Paul Woods lost to Mike Hurst and Steve Allen 1 down, Ivor Samways and Gary Taylor lost to Al Roberts and John Firth 2 down.


The Three Trophies Medal, a competition for all three divisions played simultaneously for individual trophies, was contested on Tuesday, which proved a difficult day for many despite fine weather conditions.

Some, however, rose to the challenges of the day and put in good scores. Winner of Silver Division was Yvonne Bashford with gross 92 (net 73). Second place went to Linda Midgley with 87 (74) and third on countback was Janni Pask with 89 (74).

Bronze Division was won by Kathleen Bell with 95 (72) and runner-up Norma Howitt scoed 100 (75). Anthea Nicoll was third with 98 (76).

Copper Division had a very clear winner in Julia Bishop with 102 (72), eight shots less than anyone else than runner-up Margaret Sergeantwith 112 (80). Third was Muriel Gaffney with 116 (82).


The Open Invitation Am-Am was won by the team of Fi’s Tigers (93 points) who put together a very solid 17 holes betterball stableford.

Their final hole of “four scores to count” put the icing on the cake with them amassing 11 points on the 18th, including Harry Glenn’s birdie. Fiona Hutton was team captain and guests were Steve and Ed Glenn.

Four points adrift, Simon Green and his Belton Old Masters were runners-up after a back nine countback. His guests were Gary Scott, Keith Oswin and Barry Chappell.

Longest drive trophies were won by home member Bethan Watson and visitor Chris Haynes. Jim McArthur won nearest the pin on the seventh and Paul Williamson aced the par three 15th to win the twos pot.