GOLF: Mother and son triumph in prestigious Belton Park cup competition

Have your say

Belton Park

ONE of Belton Park Golf Club’s most prestigious and sought after trophies was won by a mother and son combination.

The Belton Park Family Cup was won convincingly on Sunday by the partnership of Jennie and Simon Baxter with 42 points.

Runners-up just three points behind were Issie and Terry Guest with 39 points. Third place went to Rob and Anne Bartlett, also with 39 points.

Ladies’ section

THE Brunyee Trophy saw new member Donna Hayle, score a net 68 for a three-point handicap reduction to 33.

In second place, Megan Illingworth scored 72, achieving the lowest gross. In third place with a creditable 72 was Gill Briggs.

l Elizabeth Sharp scored a gross 85 (net 69) to win the Coronation Cup. Runner-up was Anna Clark with 79 (71) and in third with 93 (72) was Ina Wood.

l The annual ladies’ charity Am-Am saw Belton Park member Annette Fordham, partnered by Pattie Barrett, Ros Paine and Margaret Wigginton from her old club of Pinner Hill, take first place with 96 points. Runners-up were Pam Hide, Ruth Simpson, Anne Hodgson and Jean Markham from Boston with 95 points. Third were Joan Self, Marjorie Crookes, Janet Bealby and Joan Birtles with 93.

l Carole Steele won this year’s Vets Bowl with gross 92 (76). Second was Elizabeth Sharp with 96 (80) and Ina Wood was third with 101 (80). Carole Steele made it a double later in the week by also winning the Past Captains’ Trophy.

C Team

Spalding 2½

Belton Park 3½

Belton Park names first - Tony Davies and Paul Woods halved with Rob Sampson and Monty Brittain, John Taylor and David Nock beat Steve Phillips and Graham Chamberlain 1 up, Jim Wiggins and Dick Short beat Ray Barnett and Andy Richardson 3&2, Chris Housley and Dominic Priestley beat Laurie Harvey and Dave Colwell 1 up, Dave Wing and Keith Smith lost to Trevor Horrocks and Mike Murphy 1 down, John Cooke and Colin Walton lost to Keith Moore and Stuart Parker 2 down.

Seniors’ section.

Belton Park seniors’ Tuesday stableford competition was won by Peter Rollings with a score of 37.

Other results: 2 Ray Clark 35, 3 Barry Stainton 35, 4 Willie Badraun 34; back nine - Dave Martin 17, front nine - Terry Bond 19.

Radcliffe 3½

Belton Park 4½

Peter Brooks and Michael Goodacre lost 3&2, Barrie Stainton and John Clarke halved, Ian Saunders and Colin Farrington lost 4&2, Manny Barker and Mike Monaghan won 2&1, Bill Brogan and Keith Ball won 4&2, Ray Clark and Nick Craft halved, David Martin and Tony Noble won 4&3, Wes Wright and Terry Bond halved.

Belton Park 9

Blankney 1

Peter Brooks and Ray Shore won 3&2, Terry Bond and Denis Power-Neads lost 2&1, Nick Craft and David Martin won 3&2, Alan Addis and John Thompson won 2&1, David Green and Peter Hawkins won 5&4, David Langley and Willie Badraun won 8&6, Tom Brindley and Peter Rollings won 2&1, Barrie Stainton and Fred Williams won 2&1, Tony Robinson and Keith Ball won 3&2, Ian Saunders and Derek Loosemore won 5&3.

Belton Woods

Seniors’ section

ALAN Lowen was the winner of the Marshall’s July medal competition.

Results: 1 Alan Lowen net 73, 2 Pat Stamford 75 ocb, 3 Colin Thornton 75, 4 Mike Griffiths 77 ocb, 5 Colin Grant 77 ocb, 6 Denis Manton 77, 7 Bob Clarke 78, 8 Mike Gulliford 81, 9 Ian Nisbet 82, 10 Norman Tidy 83.

Greetham Valley 5

Belton Woods 3

Ian Nisbet and Colin Thornton lost 3-2, Alan Lowen and Phil Turrell lost 6-4, John Billot and Ray Woodcock won 2-1, Steve Hudson and Gordon Scott lost 6-4, Mike Whitington and Les Vine lost 2-1, Henry Knight and David Toule won 7-5, Bob Blake and John Robertson lost 4-3, Bob Clarke and Tom Rea won 1-0.

Stoke Rochford

Seniors’ section

Blankney 5½

Stoke Rochford 2½

Mike Dickinson and John Wright lost 6&5, Mick Rance and Ray Elsome lost 4&3, Dave Harmston and Ernie Armstrong lost 3&2, John Smeeton and Joe Kime lost 7&6, Mike Graves and Ray Beal won 1 up, David Hamilton and

Roy Rowe lost 2&1, Ray Smith and Tim Haward halved, Eddie Plant and Ken Taylor won 7&6.

Sudbrook Moor

THERE have been a number of successes in the Sudbrook Moor senior section’s summer series of trophies.

The Millennium Trophy, played as strokeplay over 36 holes, was shared between Dave Guy and Pete Armstrong.

Jim Brooks won the new Olympic Trophy for best stableford score. Bryan Shelley and captain Ron Boxell were runners-up.

The Gordon High handicap stableford Division Four trophy was won by Harry Cutmore. Played for last week, Harry carded 43 stableford points and was cut from his 21 handicap to Division Three.

Played as a medal for the best gross prize and best net, the Stanborn and Rolfe Trophies were won by Bryan Shelley and Pete Armstrong respectively.

Twos prizes were awarded to Alfie Kent, John Costall, Tony Rose and Geoff Wilkins.