GOLF: Seedhouse qualifies for national final

Have your say


The Belton Woods qualifying competition for the Fullers London Pride English Club Gold Medal took place on Sunday.

Jim Seedhouse scored 39 points to win the tournament and the Division 2 category. Paul Foulkes won the Division 1 category with 36 points.

A total of 84 players will qualify for the national final with each county represented by at least two qualifiers. The final will be played over in a stableford format over 36 holes at Woodhall Spa on Augiust 17 and 18. The tournament is open to male golfers who are members of clubs affiliated to England Golf.

Seniors’ section

Winner of the Peter Driver Trophy medal competition was Pat Stanford with a round of net 74.

Others: 2 Colin Thornton 75 ocb, 3 Ray Woodcock 75, 4 Tin Win 76, 5 Alan Lowen 77 ocb, 6 Tony Slipper 77, 7 John Williams 78 ocb, 8 Doug Blackburn 78, 9 David Toule 79 ocb, 10 John Billot 79.

The Marshall’s April Monthly Medal was won by David Toule with a fine net 75, two shots clear of Colin Thornton, with John Bratt third on 78.

Colin Musson registered his first win with 35 points in the April Monthly Stableford.

Others: 2 Colin Thornton 34, 3 Pat Stanton 33, 4 Denis Manton 32, 5 Les Vine 31, 6 Alan Lowen 30, 7 Ian Nisbet 29, 8 Dave Inglis 28 ocb, 9 Mike Whitington 28, 10 David Toule 27.

Radcliffe 5½

Belton Woods 2½

Alan Lowen and John Billot lost 4-3, Ian Nisbet and Bob Clarke halved, John Bratt and Colin Thornton won 2-1, Pat Stanford and Mick Hall lost 2-1, John Williams and Colin Musson lost 3-1, Henry Knight and Peter Bishop lost 2-1, Les Vine and John Sabin lost 3-2, Gordon Scott and Mike North won 3 - 1.

Ladies’ section

Belton Woods ladies’ team won 3&1 against Boston West Ladies.


Ladies’ section

Organised by lady captain Diane Dixon and Jill Speechley, a Fourball Betterball competition raised money for the St Wulfram’s Spire Fund on Tuesday.

The competition was won by the team of Anna Clarke and Jacqueline Brooks with 43 points. Runners-up were Anne Railton and Janet Wright with 42, with Ina Wood and and Joy Stepney third on countback.

The ladies were treated to tea and cakes served by the St Wulfram’s fundraising team.

Lady captain Diane Dixon presented Jean Parker with a cheque for £280.

l The Ping Fourball Betterball competition was won by Marjorie Thompson and Jan Johnson with 40 points. Second were Cathryn Morris and Anita Bartys with 39, and Rita Smith and Sue Mitchel were third on 38.

l Belton Park ladies won a friendly against Luffenham Heath 3-1 at home.


Niall Doubleday won his second competition in as many weeks with 43 points in the April Saturday Stableford.

Second with 41 was Nathan Hitchcock and Robin Harris (39) was third.

Robin carried his good form into the Rickard Cup the following day, in which he triumphed with net 67, one shot ahead of challengers Marcus West, Glen Barlow and Colin Doughty.

Stoke Rochford’s mixed team got off to a flying start in their first match of the season.

The team was led out by club captain Peter Gill and lady captain Marion Carvath.

Stoke Rochford 8

Peterborough Milton 0

Peter Gill and Marion Carvath won 4&2, David and Carol Hamilton won 2 up, Keith Dugmore and Jill Watson won 2&1, Don and Dorne Werner won 3&2, Roland Slack and Joan Lennard won 1up, Alan and Janet Jessop won 6&4, Philip and Norma Varley won 3&2, Tim Haward and Roni Proctor won 7&5.

C Team

Stoke had mixed success in two matches, losing first 4-2 at home to Belton Park, with Adam Footitt and Brian White the only pairing to secure a win. The team fared better with victory at home to Melton Mowbray.

Stoke Rochford 3½

Melton Mowbray 2½

Brian White and Trevor Harvey won 5&4, Bert Tregidgo and Paul Verner won 2&1, Bob Bennett and Jack Greenfield won 1 up.

Seniors’ section

Stoke Rochford 1

Burghley Park 7

Mick Rance and Barry Coop lost 3&2, Greg Ewart and Don Werner lost 1 down, Chris Woof and Eddie Plant won 7&6, John Wright and Don Clements lost 4&3, Keith Dugmore and Brian White lost 4&3, Tim Haward and Alan Jessop lost 6&5, Phil White and Ian Smith lost 2&1, Ken Taylor and Mike Nixon lost 4&2.


The ladies’ Tuesday stableford was won by Thea Law with 43 points, one ahead of Shirley Gardiner. Amanda Roberts (38) went straight to the top of the new Tuesday Summer Eclectic.

l Diane Leslie won the Tuesday medal Williamson Trophy for senior ladies with a scorecard of four over CSS, from Joan Alton and Sue Hutton.

l The seniors’ Thursday monthly medal was won by Dennis Green with two under CSS. Ken Jameson was second overall, from Mike McHugh, Dave Guy and Mick Massingham who tied for third. Bob Watson won the twos sweep with a birdie on the 12th.

l The A Team defeated South Kyme 4½-1½ at home in the South Lincs Scratch League.