GOLF: Stoke Rochford players welcome new captains

Have your say


Ninety-six members turned out in glorious conditions on Sunday to welcome 2013 captains Peter Gill and Marion Carvath.

The new captains hit a tee shot down the first hole, and the annual Captains’ Drive-In competition saw teams of four compete in a stableford format, with the best two scores counting on each hole.

Results: 1 Paul Verner, Simon Mulvy, Brian Talbot and Simon Yelland 95, 2 Andy Croft, Rory Croft, Richard Allan and Matt Allan 89, 3 Paul Evans, Darren Evans, Greg Shelton and Craig Hallam 85.

A total of £500 was raised on the day to be shared between the new captains’ chosen charities – the National Rheumatoid Arthritis Society and The Woodland Trust.

Peter Gill said: “Both the lady captain and I were delighted with the support received from fellow members. It was a wonderful beginning to our year.”


Seniors’ section

Stoke Rochford seniors played the latest round of their Winter Warmers series as a pairs better ball versus par competition.

On the Wednesday preceding his weekend “Drive-in”, club captain Peter Gill was in great form and with his partner Dave Hamston had a winning score of 8 up

Runners-up with 7 up were Brian White and Eddie Plant, and Greg Ewart and Fred Bellingall were third with 6 up.

Overall leader is still Phil White who has 32 points, with his brother Brian White on 30. Brian Ayto has 28 and Philip Varley 27.


Seniors’ section

Eleven teams of three contested the Texas Scramble last Tuesday.

Winners were John Clark, Dave Green and Tony Barron with a score of 42, on countback from Alan Addis, John Thompson and Terry Bond. Third with 41 on countback were Dave Langley, Tony Noble and Ian Saunders.

The previous week’s Tuesday stableford was fought out by 31 entrants and won by Garry Head.

Results: 1 Garry Head 43, 2 Colin Farrington 39 ocb, 3 Mike Monaghan 39, 4 Alan Addis 38 ocb; back nine – Manny Barker 20, front nine – Les Elliott 23.

Ladies’ section

The February stableford competition saw Ina Wood score a very creditable 39 points to take first place in silver division. Julie Hamer was second with 38 points and Sheila Garrick was third with 37. Bronze division was won by Lisa White (37) with Sue Addis second (35) and Cynthia Mills (32) third.