GOLF: Stoke Rochford raise cash for charity

Have your say


Over £730 was raised for charity as more than 100 members of Stoke Rochford Golf Club provided a warm welcome to their new club captains for 2014.

Stoke Rochford captains together.

Stoke Rochford captains together.

A special stableford competition was organised to mark the appointment of Gary Skerritt and Carol Hamilton as club captains for the next 12 months.

Twenty-six teams of four (104 players in total) were set on their way by club professional Angus Dow, with the best two scores from four to count on each hole.

On the warmest day this year, scoring was of a very high standard with the winning team (Knight, Hackett, James and Pickup) finishing well clear of the field with a stunning 92 points.

After the main competition, men’s skipper Gary Skerritt and lady captain Carol Hamilton gathered on the first tee for their traditional drive-in. Club member Dave Esswood won the spot the drive for the club captain’s drive, and Alan Church won the corresponding lady captain’s drive.

Money raised will be split between charities chosen by each captain – Prostate Cancer UK and St Barnabas Hospice Lincolnshire.

l Twenty-four Stoke Rochford seniors and 16 ladies enjoyed their annual mixed competition, played as a two gents and one lady best-two-from-three stableford. The competition was followed by an informal lunch.

Winners with 84 points on countback were ladies’ captain Carol Hamilton, seniors’ captain Barry Coop and Cliff Mills. Runners-up were Roni Proctor, Eddie Plant and Don Werner, with Sue Bellingall Keith Eddy and Duncan Bennett third on 82 points.


Belton Park’s Lifeboat Trophy was an any combination betterball competition and was won by Nigel Harris and Mark Sutton with 41 points, on countback from Glen Carpenter and Dean Scott.

Third with 40 points were Gerry Short and Dale Maplethorpe.

l Danny Coyle won the Gents’ Bogey with +1 and runner-up was Nigel Graham -1.

l Winner of the Mixed Gender Stableford was Sean Purnell with 40 points on countback from Dean Maplethorpe. Anna Clarke was third with 39 points.

l Belton Park were unable to adapt to the cold, windy conditions for the second round of the Mail on Sunday competition at Stoke Rochford.

Despite a superb fight-back from Chris Haynes, who won the last three holes to earn a half in the lead match, the rest of the Belton Park team could not quite match his heroics and the hosts eventually ran out comfortable winners.


Belton Park seniors contested a bogey competition for the Cyril Woods Trophy, with Shaun Boney and John Carey well ahead of the pack.

Shaun finished first on +2, one shot ahead of second-placed John on +4. Third was Manny Barker, on countback from new senior Dave Dobney and John Clarke in fifth.


The March Stableford competition was won by Sue Walker-Sherriff with 35 points in Silver Division.

Second place on countback went to Jose Short, ahead of Ann Bartlett with 34 points.

In Bronze Division, first place with 37 points went to Becky Lloyd. Runner-up was Ann Shaw with 36 points and a further point adrift in third was Denise Adam.


Sixty players contested a Men’s Stableford Competition on the Lakes Course on Sunday.

Played off the white tees and with a full handicap allowance, the course standard scratch was 74, against a par of 72. Conditions were difficult with high winds.

Results: Division One – 1 Mick Holland 37pt, 2 Paul Otter 36, 3 Joshua Stevens 35; Division Two – 1 Andy Williams 36, 2 Ian Williams 34 ocb, 3 Rob Fox 34.


Sudbrook Moor seniors were among 64 gents who contested the early season Trophy Day at Sleaford for the five South Lincolnshire Matchplay League teams.

In an individual stableford format, Sudbrook Moor skipper Colin Henfrey retained the Captain’s Trophy, whilst Mike Cobb of Pottergate GC won the Trevor Price Trophy.

Captain Colin’s senior took part in a warm-up matchplay practice in a fourball betterball format from championship tees.

Results: Graham Mackinder and Alfie Kent beat Colin Henfrey and Ken Wingad 3&2, Barry Kay and John Johnson beat Graham Buxton and John Came 5&3, Tony Rose and Dave Guy beat John Costall and Ron Selby 7&5, Mike Dyason and Jeff Ward beat Dennis Green and Mick Massingham, Andy Milner and Eric Dickens halved with Harry Cruickshank and Melvin Claricoates.