GOLF: Sudbrook Moor trio perform valiantly in inter-club competition

Have your say


Trio Alex Clarricoates, Martin Corby and Simon Green did Sudbrook Moor proud in the Inter-Club Scratch Championship matchplay competition, The Bramley Trophy, over the last six weeks.

They defeated Kirton Holme away in the opening round and then beat Kenwick Park at home in round two.

The very young team battled bravely in the quarter-final against Sleaford in a fine display, but ultimately lost 3-0. Alex lost 5&3, Martin 2&1 and Simon 5&4. The team were supported by a crowd of Sudbrook Moor supporters who walked the course in all three matches.

l The scratch A Team played the fourth match of the Scratch Matchplay League at Kirton Holme at the weekend and returned with a 4½-1½ victory, their fourth consecutive win, for a maximum eight points accrued.

l The Senior Matchplay League team were not so fortunate and went down ½-5½ against Gedney Hill.


Belton Park first team played Spalding at home in the South Lincs League and triumphed 5-1.

The men’s Club Match at home to Wollaton was won 4-2.


Belton 5½

Stanton 2½

Peter Brooks and Fred Williams won 4&2, Bill Brogan and Barrie Stainton won 3&2, Keith Ball and Norman Halliday lost 6&5, Alan Addis and Shaun Boney won 3&2, John Carey and Paul Skelton lost 4&2, Tony Robinson and David Green lost 2&1, Ray Clark and David Langley halved, John Thompson and Willie Badraum lost 4&3, Manny Barker and Ian Saunders won 7&6, Nick Craft and Terry Bond won 2&1.

Stanton 4½

Belton Park 5½

Peter Brooks and Brian Mole won 2&1, Bill Brogan and Rick Alsbury lost 5&3, Barrie Stainton and Norman Halliday won 3&1, Colin Farrington and Mike Monaghan won 3&2, Terry Bond and Willie Badraum lost 4&3, Nick Craft and Paul Skelton halved, Manny Barker and Fred Willaims won 1 up, Andrew Cookson and Alan Addis won 2 up, Keith Ball and Tony Davies lost 2&1, David Langley and John Alsbury lost 1 down.

C Team

Nottinghamshire 4

Belton Park 2

Belton Park names first – Tony Davies and Dick Short lost to Colin Brown and Lee Dixonn 3&2, John Cooke and Stewart Boylan lost to Will Tilley and Brian Wigley 3&2, Simon Whitton and Robert Pask beat Dave Simpson and Martin Morris 2&1, Alex Green and John Jalland lost to Vince Townley-Moss and Vic Gram-Hansen 6&4, Andy Stepney and Stuart Smith lost to Matt Shephard and Mike Dimblebee 3&2, Ben Baylis and Paul Woods beat Geoff Oliver and Keith Harris 5&4.


The Brunyee Trophy was won by Ann Bartlett with a score of gross 87 (net 72). Second on countback was Issie Guest and third place went to Donna Hayle with 102 (73).

l The Coronation Foursomes, postponed from March due to extremely bad weather and course conditions, was won by Issie Guest and Sue Walker-sherriff with 37 points. Second on countback were Carol Steele and Donna Hayle, with Josie Short and Anna Clark third on 36. Issie and Sue will go on to represent Belton Park in the next round at Kettering.

l The Ladies’ Club Championship, played over 36 holes last Sunday, was won by Megan Illingworth with a gross score of 152. Net Champion was Edina Burns with 151.

Best gross in the morning round was Joy Stepney with 87 and best of the afternoon round was Anna Clark (85). The morning’s best net round was played by Pam Mackey with 78 and Issie Guest came in with the best net of 72 in the afternoon.

Edina will represent Belton Park as Ladies’ Club Champion in the Queen of Clubs Competition in July .



Burghley Park 3

Stoke Rochford 5

Mick Rance and Barry Coop lost 3&2, Mike Dickinson and Chris Woof won 2&1, Brian White and Eddie Plant lost 5&4, Graham Manton and Trevor Harvey won 2&1, Ken Taylor and Ray Smith lost 1 down, Brian Ayto and Greg Ewart won 5&4, Keith Dugmore and Mike Graves won 2&1, Alan Jessop and Ernie Armstrong won 2&1.

In the third round of the Seniors’ Trophy competition, Mike Nixon was the winner with 42 points, one point ahead of runner-up John Wright. Third on countback with 40 points was Graham Manton.

Sixty-eight players have competed to date and with the aggregate of the best three rounds from six to count, the current leader board shows the same three players in the leading positions with aggregate scores – Mike Nixon 114, Graham Manton 110 and John Wright 107.


Lincoln (Torksey) 5

Stoke Rochford 3

David and Carol Hamilton won 2 up, Graham and June Miller won 4&2, Keith and Sheila Dugmore lost 2 down, John and Carol Whalley halved, Alan and Janet Jessop halved, Philip and Norma Varley lost 4&2, Alan Hayward and Gill Little lost 5&4, Joe and Kath Lindley lost 4&3.