GOLF: Sudbrook seniors scramble settled

Share this article
Have your say

Sudbrook Moor

THE July seniors’ mixed Texas scramble medal was won by Dave Leslie, Dave Markham and Erica Sansom with a team handicap of 8.8.

A shot behind in second place were John Costall, Bernard Pratt and Alison Reid. Third and 0.2 of a shot adrift were Ken Jameson, Rod Edwards and Barry Kay.

l The ladies’ matchplay team played their annual friendly at Orton Meadows where they lost 3-0, although all three matches were close. The team comprised Mags McArthur and Di Leslie, Trinette Speck and Elaine Sturton, and Sue Chambers and Thea Law.

l The Seniors’ League squad travelled to Pottergate, Lincoln, where they were defeated 5-1, with only captain Ron Boxell and Maurice Green winning their match.

l The low handicap juniors competed at home in the national Junior Daily Telegraph Championship.

Joshua Smith returned the best gross scorecard, and his name and score will be forwarded to the leaderboard. Harry Glenn won the under-14 section.

This sponsored event sends the top gross qualifiers to the grand final at Close House Golf Club, near Newcastle upon Tyne.

Stoke Rochford

Seniors’ section

DON Werner’s 39 points were enough to claim victory in the Seniors’ Trophy.

In second place was Jim Price with 38 points on countback from Mike Graves.

With one round remaining in this best three from six rounds competition, the overall lead is shared by four players with an aggregates score of 109 points – Ron Kent, Mick Rance, Brian White and Alan Church, with Richard Leverett close behind on 107. The final round is on September 12.

Sleaford 5½

Stoke Rochford 2½

Mike Dickinson and Joe Kime halved, Mick Rance and Dave Hamston halved, Keith Dugmore and Keith Eddy lost 5&4, John Smeeton and Philip Varley lost 3&2, John Wright and Alan Jessop lost 6&5, Ernie Armstrong and Mike Graves won 4&2, Ray Beal and Phil White halved, Greg Ewart and Jim Price lost 5&4.

l Captain Mike Dickinson’s away day was at Wellingborough Golf Club. Playing a best two from three stableford, many found scoring difficult.

Winners with 82 points, 11 points ahead of the rest of the field were Don Werner, David Hamilton and David Goodwillie, who was putting in a guest appearance on his holiday visit from the USA. Second with 71 points were Ray Elsome, Gareth Hughes and John Wright, and Alan Jessop, Ken Taylor and Eric Harby were third with 70. Nearest the pins were Mike Graves and Ken Taylor and nearest the line was Roy Rowe.

Ladies’ section

Stoke Rochford ladies’ club championship was played over 36 holes and won on gross by Pam Watson with a score of 159. Runner-up with 168 was June Miller.

The net competition was won by Sue Hitchman with 143 and second was Chris Rowley (146).

l Played over 18 holes, the Alternative Trophy saw Lynn Ewart triumph with 34 points, from Avis Griffin, also 34.

l Hosted by Jill Watson, the Lady Captain’s Day saw 31 ladies compete in a stableford competition.

Results: Silver Division - 1 June Miller 39pt, 2 Pauline Haggerty 36, 3 Norma Varley 33, 4 Avis Griffin 33; Bronze Division - 1 Sue Bellingall 36, 2 Sue Taylor 31, 3 Jacqui Francis 31, 4 Roseanne McKee 29.

The afternoon was a mixed team competition played over 14 holes, in which one lady and one man had to score on each hole. The winning team were June and Graham Miller and Judy and Rod Rawson with a score of 68 points, on countback from Chris Rowley, Paul Knapp, Alexandra Jefferies and Rory Croft. Third was Jacqui Francis, Roger Smith, Pam and Andy Watson with 67 points.

Belton Park

BELTON Park hosted their Junior Open alongside a Lincolnshire Golf Union event – the Woodroffe Walter Cups.

The two strokeplay competitions were played over two rounds. The club also held a Daily Telegraph qualifying event over the morning round. The competition attracted more than 70 golfers from clubs throughout the county.

The Daily Telegraph boys competition was won by Nicky Frost, of Boston Golf Club, who shot a four under par round of 67. Harriet Wilson, of Lincoln GC, won the girls’ competition, shooting 77. The under-14 age group competition was won by Belton Park’s Jake Craddock with 75.

Nicky Frost continued his good form with 72 in the afternoon round to win the boys’ Woodroffe Walter Cup, with Sam Brackenbury of Boston West in second place, scoring 141 (71.70). Harriet also won the girls’ trophy.

The Belton Park Trophy was won by Jade Baker, of Market Rasen GC, playing off a 20 handicap, who scored 92 (net 72) in the morning round and followed this with an excellent score of 81 (61) in the afternoon.

Ladies’ section

The August Par competition saw Sue Walker Sherriff emerge victorious in Silver Division with a score of +1, leaving Sue Mitchell to take second place on countback. Pam Mackey was third with 0.

Bronze Division was won by Anne Chatterton with an outstanding +5 on the day. Second place went to Ruth Lee with +2 and Sandra Pask was third with +1.

Belton Woods

Senior’s section

NORMAN Tidy emerged the winner of a closely fought monthly stableford.

Results: 1 Norman Tidy 38pt ocb, 2 Tom Lamin 38, 3 John Billot 35, 4 George Forbes 34, 5 Tony Wilcox 33 ocb, 6 Colin Thornton 33, 7 Tony Slipper 32 ocb, 8 Phil Stannard 32 ocb, 9 Peter Bishop 32, 10 John Bratt 31.

Marshall’s Monthly Medal: 1 Alan Lowen net 73, 2 Pat Stanford 75 ocb, 3 Colin Thornton 75, 4 Mike Griffiths 77 ocb, 5 Colin Grant 77 ocb, 6 Denis Manton 77, 7 Bob Clarke 78, 8 Mike Gulliford 81, 9 Ian Nisbet 82, 10 Norman Tidy 83.

Rutland County 4

Belton Woods 4

Ian Nisbet and Mike Gulliford lost 3-1, Alan Lowen and John Williams lost 2-1, John Billot and Phil Stannard won 5-3, Mike Whitington and Bob Clarke won 5-3, Colin Thornton and Les Vine lost 1 down, Bob Blake and Ray Woodcock won 1 up, Ray Pestell and Dave Inglis lost 1 down, John Bratt and Mick Hall won 2-1.

Belton Woods 8

Boton West 0

Ian Nisbet and David Toule won 6-4, Alan Lowen and Bob Blake won 2-1, Peter Bishop and John Sabin won 3-2, John Bratt and Ray Woodcock won 5-4, John Billot and Norman Tidy won 4-3, Colin Thornton and Mike Whitington won 5-4, John Robertson and Mick Hall won 6-4, Les Vine and Phil Turrell won 4-3.