GOLF: Tony and Mike up to scratch at Belton Woods

Have your say



Tony Turner and Mike Whitington both emerged victorious in the annual Scratch Competition.

Tony triumphed in the 0-18 handicap group and Mike won in the 19-28 section.

Belton Woods 4½

Rutland County 3½

Alan Lowen and Les Vine won 5&4, Mike Whitington and John Williams won 2&1, Bob Blake and Peter Bishop won 1 up, Mick Hall and Roger Hanratty won 4&3, Gordon Scott and Roland Shepperson lost 4&3, Colin Thornton and Terry Measures lost 4&2, John Bratt and Phil Turrell halved, Colin Musson and Dave Inglis lost 1 down.

Belton Woods 3

Rufford Park 5

Alan Lowen and Ray Woodcock won 4&3, Ian Nisbett and Roger Hanratty halved, Phil Turrell and Gordon Scott lost 2&1, John Bratt and Tony Turner halved, Mike Whitington and John Sabin lost 3&2, Peter Bishop and Colin Thornton won 2&1, David Toule and Len Astill lost 2&1, Colin Musson and Roland Shepperson lost 2&1.


A superb stableford scorecard of 44 points won Dave Guy the seniors’ annual challenge for the Olympic Trophy.

Dave played three shots under the CSS and triumphed on countback from Frank Brumpton. Both enjoyed handicap reductions.

John Morley missed out by one point but was also cut and Bryan Heydinger had an excellent card of 41 points. Other good scores came from Ken Wingad (42), Maurice Green (40) and Graham Mackinder (40). The twos pot was shared by Bryan Heydinger, Dave Guy, Graham Mackinder and Steve Squires.

l In the Tuesday ladies’ roll-up stableford, Doreen Fardell had a great round to return 38 points, her best score of the year. Runner-up was Carole Guy.

l Sudbrook seniors travelled to Pottergate, Lincoln, for their South Lincolnshire League match which was lost 5-1.

l Richard Haas aced with his rescue wood on the par four fourth for his second hole-in-one.



Josh White (79-12=67) won the Veterans Cup on countback from Tom Whittaker (78-11=67).

Winner of the Pearson Gregory Cup was David Turton with 85-20=65. Runner-up was was Trevor Ireland (77-11=66). Matt Haynes won best gross with 67.


The Ian Ward Trophy was won by Louis Richardson with 37 points, one ahead of runner-up Jack Diment.

Junior Club Championship gross winner was Harry Glenn with 73/75, triumphing at the first extra hole in a play-off with Jack Diment (75/73).

Louis Richardson was victorious in the championship net competition.